EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Discussion for Level editing, modeling, programming, or any of the other technical aspects of Quake
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by KittenIgnition »

I don't need angles, but they have no effect on the bot's behavior right now. I can post a 3D shot later, bit the 2d shows it even better than 3d.
User avatar
CZghost
Posts: 1942
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: Czechia
Contact:

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by CZghost »

I think 3D from the top perspective would be better (hide the grate and sky brush in the view)...
[ Linktree | Twitch | YouTube | Instagram | Websites ]
When you feel the worst, turn to the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19171
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by Eraser »

KittenIgnition, I'm not sure what goes wrong. Maybe you can send me the .map file so I can investigate? Before that though, you can also set g_debugBotspawns to 1 and then check the console for these messages:

no AAS area for waypoint at (0,0,0)
waypoint at (0,0,0) is unreachable

Where (0,0,0) is replaced with the origin of the waypoint entity.
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by KittenIgnition »

I'm not at home right now, but I TOTALLY JUST REMOTE DESKTOPPED INTO MY PC FROM MY PHONE AND COPIED THE MAP TO DROPBOX OMG THIS IS SO COOL!!!!

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9u5s5h7gfv9vi ... 4.map?dl=0
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19171
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by Eraser »

Weird, the map you uploaded works properly on my end. The spawning location is a bit weird in relation to the trigger, but once the bot is spawned it starts walking along the designated path.
Also, you might want to move the two overlapping info_waypoint entities into separate spots so they don't overlap (they can touch). I noticed that messes up the sequence for some reason.

What version of EntityPlus are you running? You can find out by loading a level and typing \epversion in the console. If it's anything other than 1.1.6, download the latest version.
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by KittenIgnition »

They walk straight from point to point? Mine look like they go from each point to the spawn then to the next point - they don't go straight (and they ignore the far away point).

I downloaded .17 recently; that's what sparked my interest again.

Also, if there's a solid floor (I deleted the floor aside from the small platforms in the version you have), the bot spawns, turns to 0 degrees, and stands still.
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19171
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by Eraser »

KittenIgnition wrote:They walk straight from point to point? Mine look like they go from each point to the spawn then to the next point - they don't go straight (and they ignore the far away point).
No they clearly walk from point to point here.
KittenIgnition wrote: I downloaded .17 recently; that's what sparked my interest again.
.17 eh? That's interesting considering no release with that version number exists.
KittenIgnition wrote: Also, if there's a solid floor (I deleted the floor aside from the small platforms in the version you have), the bot spawns, turns to 0 degrees, and stands still.
Uh, if there's no floor, what is the bot supposed to walk on?
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by KittenIgnition »

So, uh, I was apparently using .15; I must have really confused this mod with another, or maybe I forgot to install it or something. Either way, I'm at .16 now and will now try to solve - or at least explain - my problems on this map.

This is the map I uploaded previously: http://puu.sh/iQYhT/cd43f7c7b0.png
This is the bot's behavior: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/348 ... p_bot1.mp4
Sometimes it acts even worse: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/348 ... p_bot2.mp4

I'm compiling with Q3MAP2 2.5.17-c1 (-c1 supposedly removes a few limitations and leaves them up to Q3 to accept or decline), and BSPC 2.1i (unmodified). I'm using this batch to compile:

Code: Select all

"F:\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20131213\x64\q3map2.exe" -fs_basepath "F:\Quake III Arena" -fs_game "entityplus" -bsp -meta -patchmeta -verboseentities -v "F:\Quake III Arena\entityplus\maps\epluzz_room_4.map"
"F:\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20131213\bspc.exe" -bsp2aas "F:\Quake III Arena\entityplus\maps\epluzz_room_4.map"
If I add a floor (http://puu.sh/iQZ7m/611d3840d8.png), this happens: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/348 ... p_bot3.mp4

It's the same if I replace the invisible faces of the floor with nodraw, clip, skip... If the bot doesn't have a direct path to me, it doesn't work.

However, that's not wholly accurate, because if I place both my spawn and the trigger in the same half as the bot's spawn (http://puu.sh/iQZty/a730c11782.png), the same thing happens: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/348 ... p_bot4.mp4

And to make it worse, now if I delete the entire floor (http://puu.sh/iQZDH/02053382cb.png), the bot still just stands there after spawning: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/348 ... p_bot5.mp4

This is really baffling. Nothing that ought to work does work, and when it seems like it shouldn't based on past experience, it does. And vice-versa. What the hell is wrong with my game?
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by KittenIgnition »

For some reason, it started working, at least mostly: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/348 ... p_bot6.mp4

If he walks, he still bumbles around a bit and walks in loops (I want him to walk), but he's going where he's supposed to now, and consistently.

However, getting to this was also really weird. I made these numerals for each square and spaced out the two waypoints that were in the same space (http://puu.sh/iR0ZG/3e6637bf9c.png, and it didn't compile right (BSPC leaked). The only thing I had changed was those numerals on the floor, which was odd, so I made a botclip that encompasses the entire floor, and now it compiles and the bot goes where he's supposed to. The next step is making him walk, if at all possible, or I might space out the waypoints if he has to run. Progress is still progress though!

Eraser, if you still want to help, could you take a look at the map (https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/348 ... room_4.zip), and see if you can reproduce these errors? Delete the botclip at the bottom of the map; make the bot walk; make a solid ceiling; whatever else I posted up above. If you can reproduce the issues, then maybe take a closer look? If not, then it's on my end somehow and I'll just deal with it.

If you don't want to go through that trouble, that's totally fine too.

Edit: The bot-loop I wanted to create actually worked perfectly the first time. I expected it to require timers and shooters and door wizardry (https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/348 ... p_bot7.mp4)!

Edit: I guess it is a bug, then, that the bot will for some reason reset if there are multiple waypoints in the same place? It seems like it's only seeing the first one at that point, and so ignores any of a higher number and just continues from the first one. Worth a fix IMO, though my workaround is simply to offset them from each-other by one unit, which works thus far.
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19171
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by Eraser »

I tried your BSP. I've ran it as is (compiling the AAS myself), removed the botclip, added a ceiling (with base_support/x_support3 shader) and moved the trigger to above the ceiling and it all works like it's supposed to. I noticed you used dfengine 1.08 and I even Googled that and used it and still can't reproduce the problems.

I assume this is what you expect to see, right?

[youtube]l_wScRaQoM4[/youtube]
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by KittenIgnition »

With the exception of it not dying at the end, yes pretty much. I think it worked properly for me once I redid basically everything, but I don't remember. I did abandon this room and start on another one, but that was because of the next step being really confusing as well (though I know I can do it on my own).
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19171
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by Eraser »

In all honesty though, if you have problems with BSPC telling your map leaks and a botclip like that fixing it then you've got a completely different type of problem that has nothing to do with the mod.

Isn't that weird version of q3map the cause of your problems?
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by KittenIgnition »

I honestly have no idea what the cause was. Compiling with the fixes I was forced to employ "unfixed", it still works now.
Martinus
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:37 am

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by Martinus »

Can I spawn items somehow in EP?
[url=http://lvlworld.com/author/Martinus]My Quake 3 maps[/url]
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by KittenIgnition »

You can spawn items in baseq3; just target them with any kind of triggering entity - a trigger_multiple, target_delay, etc.
Martinus
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:37 am

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by Martinus »

I see it, thank you. I thought it, but I don't believe it's just that simple. :D

I thinking about to make a copy of my current map, and create an "enemy wave" single player map with this mod, but I have a big problem.
I tried to add the enemy waves, but it stuck at the second wave. Not continuing to the next wave and repeating the second wave. >:(
[url=http://lvlworld.com/author/Martinus]My Quake 3 maps[/url]
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by KittenIgnition »

To help with something as vague and potentially complicated as that I thinkcyoud need to post the map. However, a map like that has already been made, so you can look at that. It's probably available on the mods github page.
Martinus
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:37 am

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by Martinus »

I did it (I guess)!!!
I'm being to understand this wave system thing (I guess). :)
[url=http://lvlworld.com/author/Martinus]My Quake 3 maps[/url]
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19171
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by Eraser »

My ep_survival map does the wave-based type of gameplay. I haven't made the .map file available but if anyone's interested, I'd be happy to upload it somewhere.

Prepare yourself for a completely illegible mess of targets and targetnames though ;)
Martinus
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:37 am

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by Martinus »

I miss the power ups and the holdables at the bots to set them with spawnflags like the weapons.
I miss TA weapons and holdables from this mod. :cry:

But it's a very interesting mod as well!
[url=http://lvlworld.com/author/Martinus]My Quake 3 maps[/url]
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by KittenIgnition »

Speaking of illegible target(name)s, do mappers really deal with using names such as, "t1" during the entire creation process, or is there some utility to automatically rename them all for you, to cut down on filesize and other potential issues that go along with long targetnames?
User avatar
Eraser
Posts: 19171
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by Eraser »

I use names that are just functionally logical to me. I don't see what problems could arise from long targetnames. Filesize really isn't an issue either.

What I meant with the illegible mess is this, though:
Image
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by KittenIgnition »

Well almost all Quake Live maps use, "t1" for targetnames, as opposed to something like, "bluelowertele1".
User avatar
Hipshot
Posts: 1541
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 8:00 am

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by Hipshot »

Because it's default when you ctrl+k. It starts with t1 (target1) then continues with t2, t3, etc.
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Post by KittenIgnition »

Ah, NetRadiant uses the name of the target + 1, for example misc_teleporter_dest1 etc.
Post Reply