My programming attempt *UPDATE*

Discussion for Level editing, modeling, programming, or any of the other technical aspects of Quake
Post Reply
ALMighty
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 8:00 am

My programming attempt *UPDATE*

Post by ALMighty »

I made this program that loads .ase-files and renders them. I use OpenGL for rendering. I think it only works with 3dsmax exported files, not q3map2 exported ones. Anyways, why don't you try it out! :)

Download: http://alm.gamedesign.net/aseface.zip

Image

BTW, you can move it with WASD and rotate with arrows. 1 is wireframe mode, 2 turns lighting on/off. Page up/ page dn moves in and out of the screen.

edit: Update : Now with some model info printed out on screen.
Last edited by ALMighty on Sun Aug 07, 2005 10:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lenard
Posts: 737
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 7:00 am

Post by Lenard »

Don't have any ase's... don't want to open up a pak either... looks pretty keen though. Got an LOC count?
ALMighty
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 8:00 am

Post by ALMighty »

What's LOC?

There's an .ase-file included, btw.
bork[e]
Posts: 4357
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:00 am

Post by bork[e] »

seems nice, will try it out later. That image a red 'x' to anyone else?
Kat
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2000 8:00 am

Post by Kat »

Image appears fine.

Might be worth seeing if you can add some form of basic read out like how many faces/verts/number of textures, etc that kind of thing.
User avatar
Scourge
Posts: 15559
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2002 8:00 am

Post by Scourge »

Pretty spiffy. Agree with Kat though, would be nice with some info readouts. :icon14:
MegaMan44
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 7:00 am

Post by MegaMan44 »

interesting - do you have plans to release the source? i'd be interested in that. (been thinking of doing similar stuff myself)
tkilla
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 6:19 pm

Post by tkilla »

i always wondered, how large can an ase file be to cause gtk crashing...?
or is it depending on your pc specifications?
nice job, gonna try it soon
User avatar
Hipshot
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 8:00 am

Post by Hipshot »

I made some very detailed ASE's atleast, when making the Velvet Yard map, not large in space meaning, but large as in high quality with ALOT of faces...
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe
Kat
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2000 8:00 am

Post by Kat »

tkilla wrote:i always wondered, how large can an ase file be to cause gtk crashing...?
or is it depending on your pc specifications?
nice job, gonna try it soon
GTK won't crash (not usually at least) but *physically* and in theory you could make an ASE model as big as the grid in the editor.
User avatar
Hipshot
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 8:00 am

Post by Hipshot »

Seems _one_ of my pipe ASE's take as much as 11MB, if you can make your viewer handle that it would be great AlM.
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe
ALMighty
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 8:00 am

Post by ALMighty »

MegaMan44 wrote:interesting - do you have plans to release the source? i'd be interested in that. (been thinking of doing similar stuff myself)
Acctually, I already did. ;)

http://alm.gamedesign.net/aseface_src.zip
ALMighty
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 8:00 am

Post by ALMighty »

Kat wrote:Image appears fine.

Might be worth seeing if you can add some form of basic read out like how many faces/verts/number of textures, etc that kind of thing.
Yeah, that shouldn't be too hard since I've got all that stuff stored in variables. Just gotta figure out how to put text on the screen. :)
User avatar
Hipshot
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 8:00 am

Post by Hipshot »

You managed to make a OGL model viewer, but not text on the screen? :odd:
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe
ALMighty
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 8:00 am

Post by ALMighty »

Hipshot wrote:You managed to make a OGL model viewer, but not text on the screen? :odd:
Well, there's not so much OpenGL stuff in there, just drawing triangles I put in variables read from a text file. 99% of what I've done is C++ coding, the OpenGL stuff is just for rendering the stuff I've read from a file, which isn't that hard to do.

Also, I would like so that the text will appear in the same place on the screen always, regardless of camera position, like a HUD, which I think is a bit harder to do. I'll definitely look into it though.
Kat
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2000 8:00 am

Post by Kat »

ALMighty wrote:...I'll definitely look into it though.
Thanks. You'll probably find you'l get more users with that type of info.

Also something else to think about... do you want the viewer to be capable of handling highpoly models similar to those using in renderbumping for D3? If so you'll need to work on allowing the *fast* import of 100's MB of ASE data as those things can get hhhuge.
^misantropia^
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by ^misantropia^ »

ALMighty wrote:Also, I would like so that the text will appear in the same place on the screen always, regardless of camera position, like a HUD, which I think is a bit harder to do. I'll definitely look into it though.
Check out these tutorials from http://nehe.gamedev.net/
SCDS_reyalP
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2002 8:00 am

Post by SCDS_reyalP »

Text in opengl isn't too hard. For quick and dirty stuff, there's some things that convert fonts to opengl display lists.
See wglUseFontBitmaps and wglUseFontOutlines http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/defau ... r_2r8z.asp

Most 'real' applications use textured quads (store your glyphs on a texture like quake etc does).
tkilla
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 6:19 pm

Re: My programming attempt

Post by tkilla »

off-topic
Is there a good ase-importer for max btw?
Gtkr takes a crash overhere, when loading large poly ase's. Only when loading, once loaded there is no problem
Showing no shaderimage, only wireframes for entities helps
^misantropia^
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 6:24 pm

Re: My programming attempt

Post by ^misantropia^ »

tkilla wrote:Showing no shaderimage, only wireframes for entities helps
View >> Entities as >> Skinned and Boxed
tkilla
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 6:19 pm

Post by tkilla »

i know i know :p
^misantropia^
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by ^misantropia^ »

Sorry, I misread your post. Got wasted badly yesterday and it seems to be affecting me still :(
ALMighty
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 8:00 am

Post by ALMighty »

OK, I made a little update with some info printed out on the screen. Try it out!

Download: http://alm.gamedesign.net/aseface.zip
ALMighty
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 8:00 am

Post by ALMighty »

Didn't anyone wanna try the new version? :(
User avatar
Scourge
Posts: 15559
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2002 8:00 am

Post by Scourge »

Just did. Nice. :icon14:
Post Reply