Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Industrial Texture Pack


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Industrial Texture Pack

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 08 Sep 2000
Posts: 1085
PostPosted: 03-17-2012 02:17 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Now that I am finished with the Bridge Crane concept map I thought I would release the textures so all of you can go industrial nuts! I also released the PS 5.x source file, so if you want more stuff then you can create your own. The source file probably only works with the latest version of PS so don't moan at me if you can't load it!

http://www.simonoc.com/pages/artwork/tp_industrial.htm

The download files only have high resolution 1024x1024 textures and no Q3 shader file. I think by now most people understand how to create their own and will probably want to re-arrange the textures to suit their own projects anyway. If anyone does create a shader file and want to share, then post a link to this thread. I have posted on my website the size of the files, so don't be surprised if it takes a while to download them. I am sure my ISP is not going to be happy! :D

Here is some texture examples, more on my page:
ImageImage
ImageImage

EDIT : PS 5x Editor file not available anymore and all links updated.



_________________
Well he was evil, but he did build alot of roads. - Gogglor
My Website & Twitter


Last edited by sock on 06-19-2016 03:29 PM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 29 Feb 2012
Posts: 50
PostPosted: 03-17-2012 06:25 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I've been waiting for this since I first saw some of the crane level shots :) They turned out outstanding! Excellent work sock.




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2153
PostPosted: 03-17-2012 06:49 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Nice. This texture pack is sexy. Downloading the source and base right now :up:




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 298
PostPosted: 03-17-2012 10:43 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


On behalf of everyone, I say thanks for the textures. High-res too.




Top
                 

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks
Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 1001
PostPosted: 03-18-2012 04:02 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I enjoyed reading the writeup about your Bridge Crane level; really neat what you did with the fog and the alpha blending.
Btw, what r_speeds are you getting in the crane level?



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

Veteran
Veteran
Joined: 23 Aug 2011
Posts: 174
PostPosted: 03-18-2012 10:55 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Incredible textures pack, thank a lot sock.




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 08 Sep 2000
Posts: 1085
PostPosted: 03-19-2012 02:42 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@cityy, the crane map has no optimization, so the rspeeds are crazy (100K+). Lots of stuff could be turned into alpha textures and tons of models could be reduced in detail to make it playable, but the exercise was to see what the textures looked like with a map pushing Q3 to the limits. The map has 5500 Brushes, 390 models and 150 lights. Most stuff is models because of rotation and scale issues with Q3 and the editor.

Here is some links to showtris screens (massive images 2Mb+)
rspeed counters in the corner.

http://www.simonoc.com/images/design/concept/indust_f01wd_wire.jpg
http://www.simonoc.com/images/design/concept/indust_f02wd_wire.jpg



_________________
Well he was evil, but he did build alot of roads. - Gogglor
My Website & Twitter


Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 29 Feb 2012
Posts: 50
PostPosted: 03-19-2012 05:35 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


dear god... haha




Top
                 

Recruit
Recruit
Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 6
PostPosted: 03-19-2012 09:47 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Great texture set. Can't wait to use it in a map.




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 1668
PostPosted: 03-24-2012 01:34 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


awesome! good tex's sock. I just started back mapping again and have been looking for a tex set, now I got what I need :D



_________________
Team *A51* QL


Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Posts: 64
PostPosted: 03-24-2012 07:54 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Looks nice Sock - Thanks for the freebies!



_________________
www.mrlego.com * www.sbhostingsolutions.com


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 03 May 2010
Posts: 479
PostPosted: 04-02-2012 03:38 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I started croping out the individual parts of these textures.
The way they are present in Sock's pack doesn't suit my workflow. And I guess others here have the same problem.
As great as they are, I can't work with them in this state :).

Since I won't have time to continue croping for the whole April, I thought I'd offer my finished stuff so far and ask here if someone has the time and will and software to continue the work.
I kept the individuals in their original state, .tga and size-wise, and sorted them into your classic subfolders, such as _base, _floor, _wall, etc.

This is the stuff so far:

Image

It contains most individuals from and till "metb_grid" in alphabetical order.

I would prefer to sent the pack to some email instead of upping it to a public spot as it is work in progress and the usage of it in a map as is might lead to nameing conflicts in the future.

So, if you are willing to participate, drop me a PM.

Sock is informed about this and gave permission.
If you'd like to join in, I'd very much appreciate it. But respect the source and select/crop/copy+paste with 100% accuracy. There's no such thing as "close enough" in this procedure ;).


EDIT: no need for email adresses anymore. Upped it to a password-protected spot. So still, drop me a PM if you're interested.




Last edited by Ferrao10 on 04-02-2012 08:34 AM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

foolproof
foolproof
Joined: 11 Jan 2001
Posts: 7927
PostPosted: 04-02-2012 07:46 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Nice initiative, Ferrao. I won't be participating, because I just don't have the time.

And thanks sock for the excellent textures.
Downloaded, and having a blast playing around in Radiant with them.
You're a fucking wizzard!

Do you have a job in game dev?




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12157
PostPosted: 04-02-2012 07:49 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote




_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

foolproof
foolproof
Joined: 11 Jan 2001
Posts: 7927
PostPosted: 04-02-2012 08:27 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Cool.
Envying the skills :)




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 03 May 2010
Posts: 479
PostPosted: 04-25-2012 01:57 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Back from vacations, still have some days off and got permission to spend some of that time on the project :).

With the sheer amount of textures one can extract from the originals I ran into an "overview-problem". As they are .tgas, windows-explorer won't preview them. Does anyone here know of a nice, little (free) app that can preview .tgas like explorer does with .jpgs? For now I'm directly using radiant to keep the overview but it's slowly reaching the point-of-practicality.




Top
                 

Commander
Commander
Joined: 05 Jun 2008
Posts: 124
PostPosted: 04-25-2012 08:31 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Sage Thumbs: A free program for your thumbnails.




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 03 May 2010
Posts: 479
PostPosted: 04-25-2012 08:58 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Thank you, that's perfect.
Never had the need for such a thing, don't even own a camera.
In the meantime I had fun with "metb_light3" ;).




Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 29 Apr 2012
Posts: 59
PostPosted: 05-10-2012 06:42 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


And what about these textures? :confused:
http://www.simonoc.com/pages/materials/ ... /index.htm

that would be nice. :D




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 03 May 2010
Posts: 479
PostPosted: 05-12-2012 05:55 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


The edited version can be found at:

http://www.mediafire.com/?6tu91eysnr0pdmj

It's meant for old-school mappers like myself and is a break-up into the individual parts of the original pack, sorted in known order like _base, _support, _trim, etc.
I left the resolution as is, so expect large dimensions.

Thanks to Sock for creating these wonderful textures.
Have Fun.


edit: and, no, no shaders. Like with the original, do it yourself.




Top
                 

Boink!
Boink!
Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 4493
PostPosted: 07-14-2012 07:24 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


This might be the push AEcantw2 needs to give it some realism... the four colours might go well with the different four sectors. Downloading...




Top
                 

Boink!
Boink!
Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 4493
PostPosted: 07-14-2012 09:53 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


This might be the push AEcantw2 needs to give it some realism... the four colours might go well with the different four sectors. Downloading...

Quote:
The edited version can be found at:
http://www.mediafire.com/?6tu91eysnr0pdmj

This is indeed the more "useful" version of the base textures. Alas the other colours (other than yellow) are not part of this pack. I might need to cut up the others (orange, blue, and green) manually. Using the original base names Sock used, adding a number to them as Ferraro10 did. Sorting them into the folders Ferraro10 defined. Hope that is OK with everyone.

No idea when I will get to that, depends on if I use the textures or not.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 41526
PostPosted: 07-15-2012 10:44 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Haven't looked at the textures in detail, but aren't the other colors just recolors of the ones you already have? In that case, it's probably less work to recolor the ones you already have rather than cutting up the source material again.




Top
                 

Boink!
Boink!
Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 4493
PostPosted: 07-15-2012 11:41 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Then again I'd prefer to stick with the artists vision :)... and not meddle up the originals trying to dilettantely recolour them. I took a look at the cut up textures... and found the naming a bit strange. Also a few textures were not cut up. I am not sure if the yellow ones were missing, and the other coloured ones had additional images. Will post an example texture and my cut-up suggestion in a while.

Using PS' Slice tool you can cut up textured on a 128 pixel grid pretty easily. Most work is the consistent naming. You have to do it once per texture (all 3 other colours use the same slicing).




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Posts: 484
PostPosted: 12-28-2014 06:52 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


would anyone who has the source files for this texture set be able to send them to me? unfortunately the original download link is broken and sock does not have them anymore.




Top
                 

True Nightmare
True Nightmare
Joined: 14 Nov 2000
Posts: 4216
PostPosted: 12-29-2014 01:30 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I've got them but would rather get them to sock so he can put them back up. Not especially comfortable in principle just making them available because I can (ooo principles!)



_________________
Tutorials, tools and resources


Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 08 Sep 2000
Posts: 1085
PostPosted: 12-29-2014 02:00 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Kat wrote:
I've got them but would rather get them to sock so he can put them back up. Not especially comfortable in principle just making them available because I can (ooo principles!)


I don't have the space on my FTP server for this file and I recently lost all of my website source files in a HD crash, so please share the file if you have space.



_________________
Well he was evil, but he did build alot of roads. - Gogglor
My Website & Twitter


Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2141
PostPosted: 12-29-2014 04:22 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hmm, I have space if these files needs hosting.
I don't have any principle issues with hosting others files =)



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Mercenary
Mercenary
Joined: 06 Nov 2011
Posts: 215
PostPosted: 12-29-2014 05:22 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote





Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2141
PostPosted: 12-29-2014 05:44 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Doesn't work =(



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Boink!
Boink!
Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 4493
PostPosted: 12-29-2014 09:43 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


So have all the textures cut apart, to let me bring down the file size later in the pk3...

Question: Since the textures are 1024x1024 pixel in size (the largest ones)... I need to set the default texture scale in GTKradiant from .5 to .125, right? Never used such high-res textures before... so this is all new.

Thus a 1024x1024 pixel texture will fill a 128ux128u brush. I thinnest texture stripes end up being 4u, strangely... though they feel like they should be 8u... but I may just be confusing this.

Thanks...




Top
                 

Boink!
Boink!
Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 4493
PostPosted: 12-29-2014 10:37 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Sock,
this will sound ungrateful, especially since you lost the texture source for these textures.

But I am trying to avoid the colour scheme Pat is using and I noted that there is a yellow base crete texture, and also the pipe ones are yellow, and the hazard stripes, and on the crates... and these are quite fundamental to set a colour tone (other than using your already existing coloured metal textures).

Would there be any chance of you creating an orange version (that I would use) of these "base" textures?

I might be able to do it myself, but I do fear these "attempts" will look less than good. So before I mess them up, I am asking.

Thank you.

Solved: PS's Hue/Saturation slider, Hue to -20 turned the yellow parts of the textures to orange. Should be a very close match. Hopefully that was indeed the correct setting. As suspected messes the crate and pipe background texture up, i.e. base texture backgrounds. Fine for crete. Fixed... used Magic Wand Tool to limit area.




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 08 Sep 2000
Posts: 1085
PostPosted: 12-30-2014 05:39 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I thought no one was interested in these textures, after years of minimal downloads and no one making anything from them I had more or less given up. Got to say I did find the old school label for the texture set insulting considering they are mostly photo sourced images by myself and the hand drawn stuff is minimal. These textures can easily look convincing and good for industrial environments, just remember to use real world structural scales and prefabs.

AEon wrote:
Since the textures are 1024x1024 pixel in size (the largest ones)... I need to set the default texture scale in GTKradiant from .5 to .125, right? Never used such high-res textures before... so this is all new.

Thus a 1024x1024 pixel texture will fill a 128ux128u brush. I thinnest texture stripes end up being 4u, strangely... though they feel like they should be 8u... but I may just be confusing this.


There is a much easier way to deal with HD textures, I highly recommend to check out the shader files used in Map on the Edge of Forever. All the texture scaling and tweaking is done completely with shaders so that the map does not need to be constantly re-compiling all the time.

First setup the HD textures in a separate directory, then create scaled down (paint package required) versions of all the textures you want to use. Save these in the base texture directory you want to setup. Then create a shader file which references all the scaled down textures and points to the HD versions. The scaled down versions are purely editor only so it does not matter what quality they are.

Once the map is compiled, check out the HD textures in game (loaded via shader) and distribute the HD textures only with your final zip file. The engine does all the heavy lifting with scaling textures for you and the editor works as before using the 0.5 scaling.

Example shader using HD reference:
Code:
// ----------------------------------------------------------------------
textures/moteof/floor_steptop1
{
   qer_editorimage textures/moteof/floor_steptop1.tga
   {
      map $lightmap
      rgbGen identity
   }
   {
      map textures/moteof/hd_floor_steptop1.tga
      blendFunc GL_DST_COLOR GL_ZERO
   }
}



_________________
Well he was evil, but he did build alot of roads. - Gogglor
My Website & Twitter


Top
                 

Old Skool'
Old Skool'
Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 5215
PostPosted: 12-30-2014 05:50 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


sock wrote:
I thought no one was interested in these textures, after years of minimal downloads and no one making anything from them I had more or less given up. Got to say I did find the old school label for the texture set insulting considering they are mostly photo sourced images by myself and the hand drawn stuff is minimal. These textures can easily look convincing and good for industrial environments, just remember to use real world structural scales and prefabs.


I'd say what made those screens looked oldschool was the way the textures were used, and not the textures themselves. The bridgecrane map is one of the best looking maps I've seen in Quake 3. :)

Hi btw!




Top
                 

Boink!
Boink!
Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 4493
PostPosted: 12-30-2014 06:12 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Sock,
thanks for the detailed tips. You may have done a too good job using your textures, since it leaves little for us "commoners" to "improve" on their usage in a map... :). That might have been humbling.

I did the scaling down for the editor textures for Reflex... there they also use 1024x1024 ones... and the scaled down ones in-Radiant, are easily enough as preview. I will need to try a few compile tests to see if I can use the nice hires textures directly in the editor or if I really need to go your suggested path via shaders. I sorted your textures into:

Code:
industrial_crate
industrial_floor
industrial_girder
industrial_glass
industrial_grid
industrial_light
industrial_mach
industrial_panel
industrial_pipe
industrial_seam
industrial_triangle
industrial_wall


under textures\... this works well for the editor, letting me "pre-sort" them. Alas texture sub-folders do not seem to work in Radiant, i.e. "textures\aeindus\industrial_*\". So I am still trying to figure out how to place the textures... easiest would be to put all your textures into one folder, i.e. "textures\aeindus\"... the way .pk3 always do it. But then the "nice" sorting of the textures is gone. Use of the Radiant texture name filter might be the way.

BTW... most of the cropped textures are now in PNG format. Is that an issue for the editor or the game?

Quote:
First setup the HD textures in a separate directory, then create scaled down (paint package required) versions of all the textures you want to use.

So the 1024x1024 end up as 256x256, so the down-scale is 1/4, correct?

Hopefully, I will soon be able to create something of interest...




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group