Quake3World.com Forums
     General Discussion
        New Firefox browser....


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: New Firefox browser....

Just another Earthling
Just another Earthling
Joined: 20 Jul 2001
Posts: 10893
PostPosted: 11-16-2017 03:08 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I just opened FF and there was amessage about updating so I went to Chrome for a bit... Came back to my (default) FF and low and behold :eek:
Quote:
The new Firefox. Fast for good.

Today we’re thrilled to introduce you to our brand new browser — Firefox Quantum.

What you’ll notice first is that the new Firefox is blazing fast. In fact, you’ll enjoy speeds up to twice as fast as a year ago. It’s also more powerful. We’ve rebuilt Firefox from the ground up to focus on how you use the Web today to watch, listen, create and play without limits. We’re excited to deliver a browser that feels completely different — modern, quick and efficient. We think you’ll agree: It’s a quantum leap forward in how you’ll experience the Internet.

When you use Firefox, you’re also contributing to a movement to ensure the Internet remains a global public resource, open and accessible to all. As an independent, not-for-profit organization, we’ve been committed since 2003 to building products that put you in control of your online life and advancing open technology and public policy that promote a healthier Internet. We put you at the center of everything we do.

On behalf of Mozilla’s global community, we’re proud to introduce you to the new Firefox. Fast for good.



_________________
Hit my WWW and make the world spin :D


Top
                 

meh...
meh...
Joined: 23 Mar 2000
Posts: 4078
PostPosted: 11-16-2017 03:11 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I have to say.. for about a week now I've been considering ditching FF it was so bad for me.
Just recently had it spiking memory usage (up to 1.9gb!) fairly regularly, for no good reason, so this update might be the fix I need.




Top
                 

Mew Legs!
Mew Legs!
Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 999
PostPosted: 11-16-2017 09:09 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I'm really liking the update. Well done Mozilla.




Top
                 

Just another Earthling
Just another Earthling
Joined: 20 Jul 2001
Posts: 10893
PostPosted: 11-16-2017 09:27 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Lieutenant Dan wrote:
I'm really liking the update. Well done Mozilla.

Yes, I've been in an out for a couple of hours and it really does appear faster as they say.



_________________
Hit my WWW and make the world spin :D


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42228
PostPosted: 11-17-2017 01:21 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Have been using Quantum for a while on the beta channel. It's absolutely buttery smooth.




Top
                 

Risen From The Ashes
Risen From The Ashes
Joined: 03 Aug 2000
Posts: 26749
PostPosted: 11-17-2017 01:42 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Mine still likes to eat memory >:(

Image




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12254
PostPosted: 11-18-2017 07:25 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Mine runs super smooth and noticeably faster. It takes advantage of parallel processing on multi core CPU’s.

I also have the developer edition installed since some of the built-in tools are pretty nifty if you do any web development stuff.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 33616
PostPosted: 11-28-2017 10:25 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


got it

meh




Top
                 

Welfare Recipient
Welfare Recipient
Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 19946
PostPosted: 11-28-2017 06:45 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


doesn't seem faster than chrome...fail...




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | General Discussion


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group