Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Texture Question/Questions


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Texture Question/Questions

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 46
PostPosted: 02-23-2016 02:15 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hello,
I am interested in textures.
Where are they located? In a PK3?
Can I view them ALL in Radiant at once?
Is there a website with good textures that hasn't been taken down?
If I make my own are there any guidelines? Which is better TGA or JPEG and why?
Why do some textures do stuff? Like the water texture that creates a pool?

thanks :q3: :q3: :q3: :)




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42293
PostPosted: 02-23-2016 04:35 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


CLOUDspawn wrote:
Hello,
I am interested in textures.
Where are they located? In a PK3?

Yes. In pak0.pk3 you'll find all the standard quake 3 textures. They are inside subfolders in the folder "textures".

CLOUDspawn wrote:
Can I view them ALL in Radiant at once?


I'm not sure if you can.

CLOUDspawn wrote:
Is there a website with good textures that hasn't been taken down?


try cgtextures.com

CLOUDspawn wrote:
If I make my own are there any guidelines? Which is better TGA or JPEG and why?


Make your texture sizes in powers of 2 (eg: 1, 2, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512).
I think most textures in Quake 3 are 256x256 or something like that. By default, every two texels (pixels in a texture) map to 1 unit in-game. You can change this in Radiant and create higher resolution textures for more crisp texture detail.
I'd suggest you make all your textures JPG, unless you need an alpha channel (for transparency). Then use TGA.

CLOUDspawn wrote:
Why do some textures do stuff? Like the water texture that creates a pool?


That's shaders you're referring to. A shader is a piece of text (a script) that describes 1 or more layers where each layer can refer to a texture. It describes how these layers should be blended together. It can also apply effects like stretching, rotating, animating, etc. It also determines properties like whether or not it's water, fog or lava and what type of footsteps you should hear when you walk on it for instance. Open up a .shader file in a text editor (also in pak0.pk3 in the "scripts" folder) and examine those. There's a detailed manual on shaders here.




Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 11 Mar 2015
Posts: 848
PostPosted: 02-23-2016 04:53 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Right, textures are located in your pak0.pk3
Just press "STRG+A" to see ALL your textures in the texture-window. Or press "U" to see ONLY the ones you used in your map.
For Textures check this: http://www.simonoc.com/pages/artwork.htm , http://evillair.net/v3/pages/textures.php , http://lunaran.com/page.php?id=8
TGA is used for shaders like wireframes that use an alpha-channel for transparency iirc.
Textures "do stuff" because "shader-files" tell them to do stuff. Shader files are little text-scripts.
Heres a link to a good shader tutorial:
German: https://victorkarp.wordpress.com/quake- ... tutorials/
Englisch: https://de.ws.q3df.org/level_design/first_shader/
Hope this will help you, atm i dont know much about shaders -sorry!
;)

EDIT: Uh, too slow :D :D



_________________
Die Vitamine sind in der Dose gefangen!!!


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group