Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        New FFA map (Painkiler remake with BFGs)


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: New FFA map (Painkiler remake with BFGs)

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 14 Aug 2016
Posts: 34
PostPosted: 09-10-2016 01:02 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hi everyone! This version is close to final, but I'm interested in your opinion, what should be changed and which issues are present. I once saw RasputiN's "PainKiller RMX" and it's tightness (original q1/q2 size) made me sad. Then I remembered q1 Rocket Launcher and hit on the idea to make something arcade-q1-style on ztn's Painkiller's base. Then, I decided to make 2 item sets, separated by FFA-Tourney/TDM attribute, so "normal" version is available too. ;)
http://rgho.st/6nWdNz49T

So, the questions:
1) Should I make regular version in FFA-Tourney mode, to be chosen first, or BFG version brings more joy (it brings at all?)?
2) Should I remove one of three BFG's (to be quite honest, I don't want to)?
3) Any suggestions about item replacement in both FFA/TDM modes?

Thank you all for your help (with particles/shader problems, Hipshot for his textures) and attention!




Last edited by Obsessed on 09-21-2016 04:02 PM, edited 4 times in total.

Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2147
PostPosted: 09-10-2016 01:19 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


You need to post some screenshots buddy!



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 14 Aug 2016
Posts: 34
PostPosted: 09-10-2016 02:30 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
You need to post some screenshots buddy!

As you say, my inspirer and texture sponsor! ;) :D
Image
Image
Image
Image


P.S. Btw, I'm a fan of Lakerbot, and I still can't beat him in regular version (NM skill, ofc). :)
http://www.lspace.nildram.co.uk/lakerbot.html




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 284
PostPosted: 09-10-2016 05:29 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I love ZTN maps ...which is why I remade The Rage when I heard he decided not to make any more Q3 maps :( ....

Anyways ... visually this is easily the best remade ZTN map that didn't come from his hands (and that includes mine). I really love the ZTN logo tribute (wish I'd have thought of that).

There's a missing texture file though. (shader: textures/liquids/clear_ripple3 has a stage with a missing image textures/liquids/pool3d_5c.tga)

So, to the questions:
1) Should I make regular version in FFA-Tourney mode, to be chosen first, or BFG version brings more joy (it brings at all?)?
- Yes please on the regular version.

2) Should I remove one of three BFG's (to be quite honest, I don't want to)?
- No, three is good. It plays very well.

3) Any suggestions about item replacement in both FFA/TDM modes?
(Tourney/FFA)
- RG to where PG currently is.
- PG to where BFG in mid bottom area (MH area)
- GL to where RG currently is.
- RL into upper BFG recess (overlooking where PG and YA currently are).
- SG to where RL currently is.
- replace lower SG with Ammo
- remove BFG from bottom corner of stair well where armour shards and health is.
- RA to where Battle Suit currently is.
- replace RA in current position with ammo
- switch up ammo to cause map movement (IE: don't put ammo for a weapon near it).

Standard disclaimer to any mapper I reply to / make suggestions to applies here:-
This is your map, take what you will from my suggestions and feel free to use them. If you don't I certainly won't be offended. Good luck in getting it to final.

Ian
AKA FoRa. (Foralarx)



_________________
My Maps: Steep Learning Curve, Reckless Abandonment, The Rage


Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 14 Aug 2016
Posts: 34
PostPosted: 09-10-2016 10:55 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


foralarx2k3 wrote:
visually this is easily the best remade ZTN map that didn't come from his hands (and that includes mine). I really love the ZTN logo tribute (wish I'd have thought of that).

There's a missing texture file though. (shader: textures/liquids/clear_ripple3 has a stage with a missing image textures/liquids/pool3d_5c.tga)


Thank you. :) It's all Hipshot's textures, believe me! ;) I'm making this logo for a 2-nd time (however, here it is not visible :D ): http://lvlworld.com/shot/id:2028/s:202812328795082355
TY for missing texture info too, but I'm not sure, how to fix it.. This texture is standard, but I found no any "pool*.tga", only jpegs, and the name was pool3d_5c2.jpg :miffed:
And about weapons - shortly, you want to place them, like ZTN did? :) Sorry, but in BFG-version I tried to place BFGs as "far" as possible, in the same time, placing RG "in the center of the map", to make it more accessible - a counterweight to BFG, because if someone rails bfg-user it's very cool, imo. >:D
And in no_bfg version, RG seems to be the most desired weapon. And I agree, it would be wrong to place slugs near.

- PG to where BFG in mid bottom area (MH area)
- RL into upper BFG recess (overlooking where PG and YA currently are).
- remove BFG from bottom corner of stair well where armour shards and health is.

this ^ requires to remove all BFGs, but I want to make 1 version with, and 2-nd completely w/o BFG. :) The main idea was to enlarge ZTN's tight duel map to play FFA there.




Top
                 

\kill
\kill
Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Posts: 909
PostPosted: 09-11-2016 05:56 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


The texture isn't missing when it's ported over to run in Quake Live ..so I'm assuming that you're making this map for QL rather than Q3A?




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 14 Aug 2016
Posts: 34
PostPosted: 09-11-2016 09:10 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


v1l3 wrote:
I'm assuming that you're making this map for QL rather than Q3A?

I dunno how to make maps specially for QL, actually. :) I just have some incomprehension, why some standard textures became missing in editor, but present in the game (all the fogs, for example). The same about this liquid stage - I just don't have this .tga. But in my Q3 everything is ok.
I'll try to test it with someone near me. Alas, almost nobody has Q3A installed.




Top
                 

\kill
\kill
Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Posts: 909
PostPosted: 09-11-2016 11:16 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


The best way to test a map is to run the map within its pk3 in a clean installation from the baseq3 folder in your Q3A with no other files added to the baseq3 folder. Then you'll get your messages as to what is missing printed out into the games console after you load up the map. I have Q3A installed three times .. my store bought version, IOQ3, and then Q3 1.32e (edawn). My store bought version has nothing in it aside from the game itself..so it's perfect for testing, whereas I use the other two installation...one for playing online games, and the other for playing against bots offline. The installation for playing against bots is an udder mess...hundreds of maps ...70+ mods....terrible for testing maps!! :paranoid: A mapper can do everything out of using just one installation..but it takes too much work to move files around to make it clean imo...so it's best to have an empty installation. :D




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 14 Aug 2016
Posts: 34
PostPosted: 09-21-2016 04:05 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


v1l3 wrote:
The best way to test a map is to run the map within its pk3 in a clean installation

Thank you, I did so, and found, that plats sounds was missing too. :) Link was updated, the puddle now is ok. :tomato:




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group