Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Compiling and lighting


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Compiling and lighting

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Posts: 90
PostPosted: 10-20-2016 05:38 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


i'm working with radiant 1.6.5 , and i have a question about compiling and lighting.
When i need to see the final result I start to make several Fast-Tests to check geometry, lighting positions, etc. When all is ok I make a Full-Final render and at this point all lights are very similar to the previous render (Fast-Test) with the same light and shadow zones.
As all my maps are for QLive, so the next step is obviously make the QL-lighting-Final render...wow...totally diferent for worse: no shadows and super iluminated, some zones are white burned with light.
So i have 3 questions:
Old maps we play in QLive like dm6 or ztn, were recompiled with QL-lighting-Final render?
I dont think so, but maybe i´m wrong.
QLive accepts Full-Final compiled maps?
As Full-Final and QL-Final are very time consumers why not a Fast-QL-Lighting-test? ( if it is mandatory to quake-live maps )




Top
                 

Mercenary
Mercenary
Joined: 06 Nov 2011
Posts: 246
PostPosted: 10-20-2016 07:36 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


There is nothing mandatory for QL workshop maps, you can put anything you want on there. Compile with whatever settings you want. As for the overly bright lights, look at the compile switches - maybe there's a really high intensity setting or something.




Top
                 

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Posts: 90
PostPosted: 10-20-2016 08:50 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Ty for your answer, KI

look at the compile switches...where are they?




Top
                 

Theftbot
Theftbot
Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 468
PostPosted: 10-20-2016 10:14 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote





Top
                 

Mercenary
Mercenary
Joined: 06 Nov 2011
Posts: 246
PostPosted: 10-20-2016 01:55 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


In the compile menu inside Radiant, look for customize or some similar button. Then select the menu item you're trying to find out about, it will list all the q3map2 stages (bsp, vis, light), and all the technical switches. Then look at the link theftbot posted and see what you can see. I don't know what the default compile options are because I use netradiant custom, not gtk, and I have a fully custom menu anyway.




Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 11 Mar 2015
Posts: 848
PostPosted: 10-21-2016 09:12 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Open your map in radiant, click on "File" /Project settings. Here you can modify the standart compile settings.



_________________
Die Vitamine sind in der Dose gefangen!!!


Top
                 

Warrior
Warrior
Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Posts: 90
PostPosted: 10-25-2016 08:11 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Sorry to be back so late.
Tanks for ur answers, all of them were very usefull.
I need now to test some switches, see how they result and maybe make my own compile settings for future maps.
:D




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group