Quake3World.com Forums
     Technology & Troubleshooting
        Just recieved an upgrade in my area for internet


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Just recieved an upgrade in my area for internet

Say ello to my l'il frien'
Say ello to my l'il frien'
Joined: 04 Nov 2000
Posts: 7361
PostPosted: 05-31-2012 05:10 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Image

100/10 mbps

I do wish however I could reach a 10 mbit upload speed, seems to only hover around 5. Still a low upload speed compared to most folks, but I'm happy




Top
                 

axbaby
axbaby
Joined: 22 Dec 1999
Posts: 17369
PostPosted: 05-31-2012 06:24 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


A whopping 8 kbs download for me.

ping 3476 ms to shawcable

i am jellus as old heck.
i am angery allot
i am african
i am



_________________
[WYD]


Top
                 

Say ello to my l'il frien'
Say ello to my l'il frien'
Joined: 04 Nov 2000
Posts: 7361
PostPosted: 05-31-2012 06:53 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


lol africa etc.




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12254
PostPosted: 05-31-2012 07:02 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Wow, how much is that costing you? Does Shaw rape people in the ass as much as Rogers does here in Eastern Canada?

I'm getting 6Mb/800kb DSL for $35. Decent compared to par around here but still :(



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Your Other Daddy
Your Other Daddy
Joined: 03 Dec 1999
Posts: 19760
PostPosted: 05-31-2012 08:27 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


i'm getting 18Mb/1Mb cable from rogers for $45.

just read on [H]forums that verizon starting next month is raising speeds from 150Mb to 300Mb/65Mb



_________________
[WYD]SoM


Top
                 

Finno-Persian Legend
Finno-Persian Legend
Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 15536
PostPosted: 05-31-2012 08:52 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


obsidian wrote:
I'm getting 6Mb/800kb DSL for $35. Decent compared to par around here but still :(


Same. The best connections in Canada get laughed at by actual developed countries :olo:

I'll probably switch to the 12Mb/1Mb profile next time Teksavvy offers a free upgrade.




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12254
PostPosted: 05-31-2012 09:45 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Captain Mazda wrote:
The best connections in Canada get laughed at by developing countries :olo:


Fixed (being serious too).



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Say ello to my l'il frien'
Say ello to my l'il frien'
Joined: 04 Nov 2000
Posts: 7361
PostPosted: 05-31-2012 10:43 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Shaws website lists 80, but they gave it to me for $70

Which is only $10 more from the 50/3 I had before

I was looking at the 250/15 package, but not for $110




Last edited by Scarface on 05-31-2012 10:48 AM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

Say ello to my l'il frien'
Say ello to my l'il frien'
Joined: 04 Nov 2000
Posts: 7361
PostPosted: 05-31-2012 10:46 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


The speed has come in handy for downloading Max Payne 3 tho, 30 gigs in 45 mins




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42249
PostPosted: 06-01-2012 12:05 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


obsidian wrote:
I'm getting 6Mb/800kb DSL for $35. Decent compared to par around here but still :(


For what it's worth, I'm on an 8Mbps/1Mbps connection but that's the budget choice connection available from my ISP. They're not exactly the cheapest ISP though (compared to other Dutch ISP's), so I pay roughly the same as you but they do offer connections up to 100Mbps. The faster connections aren't even all that much more expensive (up to 55 euros, which is roughly 68 USD) but I never felt the need for a connection faster than 8Mbps to be honest.




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12254
PostPosted: 06-01-2012 09:35 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


"Par" for most of Canada is ISP from Bell or Rogers. Here's Bell at $50/month (no contract), also not including modem rentals, "service charges", "activation fee", other nickel & dime charges, and they don't mention the traffic shaping:


Quote:
Usage allowance: 25 GB
Speed: Up to 6 Mbps
Usage overage charge (up to $60): $2.00/GB


Current as of February 1, 2011; subject to change without notice.

Additional GB are billed in increments of 100MB for the Essential Plus plan; for Performance and Fibe plans, additional GB are rounded mathematically up to the nearest 10MB increment GB.

Speed and signal strength may vary with your technical configuration, internet traffic, server, environmental conditions and other factors.



Note the 25GB bandwidth cap and the $2/GB overage charge, which in reality costs an ISP about $0.10/GB. Don't like that cap, they'll upgrade you up to the higher, more expensive plans for an additional cost and you'll likely be paying over $100 for a 50Mb line but still capped to 250GB.

Most of Canada is being fucked in the ass for ISP and mobile services. Mazda and I are on Teksavvy, an ISP reseller. That's the only way we can get decent pricing.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Finno-Persian Legend
Finno-Persian Legend
Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 15536
PostPosted: 06-01-2012 10:03 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


obsidian wrote:
Note the 25GB bandwidth cap and the $2/GB overage charge, which in reality costs an ISP about $0.10/GB.


Isn't that just what Teksavvy charges? In reality it costs an ISP about $0.02/GB which was one of the driving points of the anti-UBB legislation.

The duopoly of Bell and Rogers is maintained by the Conservative federal government. They let these corporations get away with all sorts of thievery by keeping competition to a minimum. We live in the stone age of communications technology here.




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12254
PostPosted: 06-01-2012 10:07 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


The duopoly isn't maintained by the Conservative government, it has existed well before they took power. They certainly haven't helped though.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Finno-Persian Legend
Finno-Persian Legend
Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 15536
PostPosted: 06-01-2012 10:19 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


The CRTC began making questionable decisions in 2006 when Harper took power. I agree, it doesn't really matter who holds the most seats at this point, but the current government is making things worse for Canadian customers.




Top
                 

Say ello to my l'il frien'
Say ello to my l'il frien'
Joined: 04 Nov 2000
Posts: 7361
PostPosted: 06-01-2012 10:33 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


With the 100/10 package, it's 500GB/month with a auto tier to 750GB then 1TB

I don't see myself going through that much bandwidth. It's wierd that eastern canada gets gaped with internet charges




Top
                 

Say ello to my l'il frien'
Say ello to my l'il frien'
Joined: 04 Nov 2000
Posts: 7361
PostPosted: 03-21-2013 11:24 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


And another :)

Image




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43605
PostPosted: 03-22-2013 06:09 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


got one too. 30mbps/3mbps for the same price (24 smackers).
could go to 50/3 for 27 but I really don't use all that speed that much anymore.




Top
                 

Say ello to my l'il frien'
Say ello to my l'il frien'
Joined: 04 Nov 2000
Posts: 7361
PostPosted: 03-22-2013 09:36 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


50/3 for $27 is an excellent price, where from?




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43605
PostPosted: 03-22-2013 11:26 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Online/T-Mobile.. dutcheeland.




Top
                 

Your Other Daddy
Your Other Daddy
Joined: 03 Dec 1999
Posts: 19760
PostPosted: 03-22-2013 02:42 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


still, for 3 extra, dooooooooooooo it



_________________
[WYD]SoM


Top
                 

Finno-Persian Legend
Finno-Persian Legend
Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 15536
PostPosted: 03-23-2013 09:25 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


lol, in Canada that would cost $400/month on a contract and it'd probably be down half the time.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42249
PostPosted: 03-24-2013 02:55 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Scarface wrote:
50/3 for $27 is an excellent price, where from?

I'm guessing he meant euro though, which is roughly $35. Doesn't really matter in the current context though.




Top
                 

Veteran
Veteran
Joined: 09 Mar 2011
Posts: 173
PostPosted: 05-27-2013 08:16 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Image

Getting what I pay for. Which is more than a lot of people can say about their isp.




Top
                 

Finno-Persian Legend
Finno-Persian Legend
Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 15536
PostPosted: 05-27-2013 08:36 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Got my service upgraded from 6M/800K to 15/1 and the monthly cost remains the same.

Image




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12254
PostPosted: 05-27-2013 08:43 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


DSL or cable, Mazda?



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Finno-Persian Legend
Finno-Persian Legend
Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 15536
PostPosted: 05-27-2013 10:07 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


It's Teksavvy's new fiber DSL.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42249
PostPosted: 05-27-2013 11:52 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I heard "Ziggo" customers in the Netherlands that have a 100Mbps connection are getting a free upgrade to 150Mbps :eek:




Top
                 

Mercenary
Mercenary
Joined: 07 Sep 2009
Posts: 229
PostPosted: 05-28-2013 02:23 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Image

about 100$ a month including phone and cable tv



_________________
Image
mDd Online Records
Quake 3 Map Archive
Quake 3 DeFRaG center


Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12254
PostPosted: 05-28-2013 08:31 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Captain Mazda wrote:
It's Teksavvy's new fiber DSL.


"Fiber" DSL is still just DSL. There is no residential fiber service in Canada. That's why Bell quotes the service as "Fibe", because they can't legally call it a fiber line to your house. But anyway, who can complain about free upgrades, right? Teksavvy FTW.

I took a look at TekSavvy's website and noticed different pricing packages now. My last bill was for $32 but still stuck at 5mbps, I wonder if I'll be upgraded soon or at least get a cheaper bill next month.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Finno-Persian Legend
Finno-Persian Legend
Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 15536
PostPosted: 05-28-2013 09:24 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Fiber is still a new and exciting piece of technology in Canada. In Europe and the rest of the civilized world, it's ancient history :olo:

Your bill should be automatically adjusted by now if you're still on the copper. Call them and make sure.

(doesn't hurt to triple your speed for the same price either, the activation fee is now $50 instead of $95)




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 12 Jul 2000
Posts: 11553
PostPosted: 05-28-2013 10:35 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Image




Top
                 

Aneurysm
Aneurysm
Joined: 10 Dec 1999
Posts: 12052
PostPosted: 05-28-2013 11:54 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Image




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 10 Feb 2000
Posts: 28023
PostPosted: 07-16-2013 10:01 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Image

i feel so SLOW! :tear:




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12254
PostPosted: 07-16-2013 08:13 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Amidy, are you on cable or DSL? What kind of modem do you have there?

I'm thinking of upgrading to TekSavvy's DSL 15/10, but apparently Bell has shit infrastructure that only supports one shitty model of modem.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Just another Earthling
Just another Earthling
Joined: 20 Jul 2001
Posts: 10920
PostPosted: 07-16-2013 10:13 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


"Down Under" on ADSL2?

$80/ mth, free national calls telephoen (mobiles are extra)
10Gb/ then shaped

Image

Here's an old one on cable, yes a different ISP & technology, a couple of years ago but doubled d/l speed :smirk:
Image

Dates top right hand side.
You can see below sometimes it was near worthless but fortunately I changed address (and ISP) :D

Image



_________________
Hit my WWW and make the world spin :D


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Technology & Troubleshooting


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group