Q4 textures and maps for Q3

Discussion for Level editing, modeling, programming, or any of the other technical aspects of Quake
V1979
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:00 am

Q4 textures and maps for Q3

Post by V1979 »

I edited this topic and added description how to convert maps from Q4 and D3.
Notification!
It is not about EULA and such other questions. It's just description of a technology. It can be useful or not, but it works and it's enough for me. I did it for my amusement.

Instruments:

1. QuArK 6.6.0 Beta 6 from here http://quark.sourceforge.net/
2. GTKRadiant 1.6.3 (not 1.6.4, as its Surface Inspector works incorrectly) or a good old Q3Radiant 2.0.2
3. Q3MAP2 (q3map2_fs_20g or 2.5.17)
4. BSPC (2.1i)
5. Paint.NET

Algorithm:
1. Extract all files from all the *.pk4 files in <DOOM3>\base or <QUAKE4>\q4base
2. Open <yourmap>.map in QuArK and save it as 'QuArK map (*.qkm)' and further as 'Structured text for hand-editing (*.qkm)
3. Close the map in QuArK and open it in Notepad (or WordPad) and replace Game = "Quake 4" by Game = "Quake 3"
4. Re-open the map in QuArK (now it will be Quake3 game mode) and save it as 'Quake .map file (*.map)' into your work folder, for example, <QUAKE3>\baseq3\maps
5. Open the map with in Notepad (or WordPad) and remove all 'textures/' as Q3 uses short path for textures names (NB! as Q4 has folder 'textures/mptextures/' you should replace '/mptextures/' by '/mp/' previously and rename the folder 'textures/mptextures/' to 'textures/mp/' )
6. Compile the map with Q3MAP2 (with -bsp key only). It's just a raw compilation to get list of necessary textures (and shaders)
7. Search necessary shaders through <DOOM3>\base\materials or <QUAKE4>\q4base\materials to define layers to make necessary textures
8. How to make new textures see my manual below
9. Write shaders for complex textures and place it into <QUAKE3>\baseq3\scripts and insert the name of your shader file into shaderlist.txt
10. Open the map in GTKRadiant (NB! change default project settings to work with brush primitives) and edit it as you wish
11. Compile the map with Q3MAP2 (to make *.bsp) and BSPC (to make *.aas - for bots)

I want to share my experience how to adapt Q4 textures for Q3. I use Paint.NET for this.
Steps (see screenshots):

1. Open the chosen file <>_local.tga
Image
Image

2. Desaturate it
Image
Image

3. Invert colors
Image

4. Add the file <>_d.tga as another layer
Image
Image
Image

5. Adjust its properties - OVERLAY
Image
Image

6. Add the file <>_h.tga as another layer
Image
Image

7. Adjust its properties - OVERLAY
Image
Image

8. Add the file <>_s.tga as another layer
Image
Image

9. Adjust its properties - COLOR DODGE
Image
Image

10. Save the file <>.jpg (or with another necessary name)
Image

NOTICE: This algorithm can be used to create *.jpg textures (without alpha channel).

This algorithm can be used for converting D3 files too, though its texture set is organized worse and in fact is composed from some different sets (it can be seen in different file mask for heightmap textures).
Last edited by V1979 on Mon Nov 09, 2015 5:44 pm, edited 8 times in total.
Fjoggs
Posts: 2555
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 7:00 am

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by Fjoggs »

None of your pictures work.
User avatar
CZghost
Posts: 1943
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: Czechia
Contact:

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by CZghost »

V1979, better could be done if you use some of general image hosting sites (for example imgur.com) instead of using local hosting in your country... Most of people block russian domains as they are often source of malware.
[ Linktree | Twitch | YouTube | Instagram | Websites ]
When you feel the worst, turn to the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon
V1979
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:00 am

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by V1979 »

I reduced pictures' size and uploaded them to imgur.com
AndehX
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 10:48 pm

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by AndehX »

This is a good tutorial, but not really necessary since ioquake3 supports normal/specular maps.
User avatar
CZghost
Posts: 1943
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: Czechia
Contact:

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by CZghost »

Thanks :) Andeh, not everyone use ioquake3 and q3map2 supports baking lightmap based on normalmap, which do not require to use ioquake3. For speculars, it is much worse as you have to make another stage that reflects the specular glares as environment map (tcGen environment).
[ Linktree | Twitch | YouTube | Instagram | Websites ]
When you feel the worst, turn to the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon
V1979
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:00 am

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by V1979 »

It's really good, if ioquake3 supports normal/specular maps. Is there any example of such shaders?
Some thoughts:
1. Not everybody plays ioquake (I don't play it though I have it).
2. Converting textures (to *.jpg) allows to reduce *.pk3 size, though some visual effects are limited.
3. Some players set picmip >0, thus many efforts to improve visual aspects are useless.
m4xpower
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 8:40 pm

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by m4xpower »

nice!
going to try and make that process it into a script for imagemagick :)
AndehX
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 10:48 pm

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by AndehX »

Everyone should use ioquake3 since theres literally no drawbacks to using it. Also CZghost, normalmaps are different to lightmaps. q3map2 doesn't handle normalmaps. They are done purely through material (.mtr) files
KittenIgnition
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by KittenIgnition »

Q3map2 does fake normals by baking the detail into the lightmap.

And ioq3 is buggy as hell sometimes, at least the forks I use. There's nothing enticing enough in stock ioq3 to convince me to get rid of my awesome features in my engine.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/acxgim6a3assx ... ormals.gif

I used to have an actual lightmap on my dropbox but idk where it is from my phone.
User avatar
CZghost
Posts: 1943
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: Czechia
Contact:

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by CZghost »

That's quite wrong, Andeh. First, Quake 3 does not have support for mtr (I do not count ioquake3) and last version of q3map2 can handle the normalmap to bake lights that wrap around the fake bumbs to create visual effect similar to the Q4 one. Sure you have to make finer lightgrid to allow this feature. Also, it's not so much known feature and it needs much tweaking, so it is not used so much by mappers.

Also, ioquake3 is quite buggy. I can't control the brightness to get rid of the overall darkness. The entire screen is too dark. Also it does not support the numpad.
[ Linktree | Twitch | YouTube | Instagram | Websites ]
When you feel the worst, turn to the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon
VolumetricSteve
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:33 am

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by VolumetricSteve »

I like what you're doing, but doesn't this violate the EULA of both quake 3 and quake 4?
AndehX
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 10:48 pm

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by AndehX »

ioquake3 isnt buggy at all for me, not sure what version you guys are using...

CZ - I know Quake 3 does not support mtr, I never said it did. ioquake3 does though, and I still think theres no benefit to sticking with vanilla Quake 3.
obsidian
Posts: 10970
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 8:00 am

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by obsidian »

VolumetricSteve wrote:I like what you're doing, but doesn't this violate the EULA of both quake 3 and quake 4?
Yes indeed, and this is certainly frowned upon by the community. Maps and assets being shared that violate EULA's will be blacklisted here and on other networks like LvL.
[size=85][url=http://gtkradiant.com]GtkRadiant[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com]Q3Map2[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/shader_manual/]Shader Manual[/url][/size]
User avatar
Theftbot
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:03 am

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by Theftbot »

LvL and Worldspawn Archive dont care for copyrights.
cityy
Posts: 1020
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:23 am

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by cityy »

Everyone should though!
www.ferdinandlist.de/leveldesign
User avatar
CZghost
Posts: 1943
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: Czechia
Contact:

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by CZghost »

They don't care until someone report it.
[ Linktree | Twitch | YouTube | Instagram | Websites ]
When you feel the worst, turn to the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon
User avatar
CZghost
Posts: 1943
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: Czechia
Contact:

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by CZghost »

AndehX wrote:ioquake3 isnt buggy at all for me, not sure what version you guys are using...

CZ - I know Quake 3 does not support mtr, I never said it did. ioquake3 does though, and I still think theres no benefit to sticking with vanilla Quake 3.
Well, I downloaded and tried out last version available for Windows 7. Running with nVidia GeForce 9800 GT videocard.
[ Linktree | Twitch | YouTube | Instagram | Websites ]
When you feel the worst, turn to the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon
V1979
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:00 am

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by V1979 »

When I started this topic, I just wanted to share my experience how to make textures for Q3 from set of Q4 textures.
I didn't thought that it could provoke discussion about EULA, ioquake features etc.
My method allows to make textures for standard Q3 engine (v.1.32c), the most commonly used release. To use normal maps for Q3, I would suggest using q3bers engine, as it is compatible with other mods and has its own working shader syntax for bumpmapping.
obsidian
Posts: 10970
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 8:00 am

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by obsidian »

I have no issue with this tutorial. This set of techniques can be applied for valid or personal situations which respect EULAs. What becomes questionable is distribution of assets. It's just a note bringing awareness to others about why this remains an important issue.
[size=85][url=http://gtkradiant.com]GtkRadiant[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com]Q3Map2[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/shader_manual/]Shader Manual[/url][/size]
Kat
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2000 8:00 am

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by Kat »

@V1979: don't convert normal maps using desaturation, that results in incorrectly interpreted grey-scale tonal values in the bump/height maps - light-blue is not synonymous with light-grey.
[url=https://www.katsbits.com/tutorials#q3w]Tutorials, tools and resources[/url]
V1979
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:00 am

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by V1979 »

Kat, I am satisfied with my results. See screenshots or just repeat my steps.
Kat
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2000 8:00 am

Re: Q4 texture pack for Q3

Post by Kat »

V1979 wrote:Kat, I am satisfied with my results. See screenshots or just repeat my steps.
Will do... when wanting to know how NOT to do it ;)
[url=https://www.katsbits.com/tutorials#q3w]Tutorials, tools and resources[/url]
Post Reply