Trouble with a texture on a simple patch mesh

Discussion for Level editing, modeling, programming, or any of the other technical aspects of Quake
Post Reply
patrisp
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:35 pm

Trouble with a texture on a simple patch mesh

Post by patrisp »

I can't understand why my clock is looked as the photo attached. I fitted it with shift+s as it a simple patch mesh. I can see it fine with my wolfcamql but It doesn't look fine when I upload the map to steam servers. What is wrong?
Shader:
textures/MisTexturas/reloj
{
cull none
surfaceparm origin
surfaceparm nolightmap


{
map textures/Mistexturas/reloj.png
alphaFunc GE128
depthWrite
rgbGen identity

}
{
map $lightmap
rgbGen identity
blendFunc GL_DST_COLOR GL_ZERO
depthFunc equal
}
}
sst13
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:05 pm

Re: Trouble with a texture on a simple patch mesh

Post by sst13 »

It's a Mip Mapping bug in QL, only affecting textures with odd sizes.

You should always use texture sizes with powers of 2. Like: 32 - 64 - 128 - 256 - 512 - 1024...
You can combine these values horizontal and vertical. (Textures don't need to be square.)

It's also ok to use: 48 - 96 - 192 - 384 - 768...
In this case the error occurs not until the texture is scaled down under 3 texels. (You won't notice the error on such a small surface.)

Rescale your clock texture and everything will be fine. :)
[url=https://sst13.de]Q3A Maps - by sst13[/url]
[url=https://steamcommunity.com/id/_sst13_/myworkshopfiles]Quake Live Workshop[/url]
patrisp
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Trouble with a texture on a simple patch mesh

Post by patrisp »

Wow, thank you, thank you, thank you a lot. You answered so fast, and so exact. That was the problem sst13, my clock was 218x218 pix and now is 256x256 pix, and I only had to upload the png file, everything works like a charm. Thank you again, I will comment your help of course in steam workshop.
Post Reply