What all should be in my AUTOEXEC.CFG? post suggestions plz

Locked
sir_frags
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 1:38 am

What all should be in my AUTOEXEC.CFG? post suggestions plz

Post by sir_frags »

Alrightie, usually when I get a game I read and study it myself to figure things out, but this game has got to be an exception because it's like 7 years old and the vets are clearly changing it alot :) So I'm trying to get a crash course in some things that I know are important in my fps games. Here's what I got in my autoexec.cfg so far. What else should I put in it? Thank you for any help.

*Frags*


set cl_maxpackets 125
set cl_packetdup 1
set rate 25000
set snaps 30
set cg_fov 100//default is 90

bind MOUSE3 "+zoom"
bind MWHEELDOWN "weapnext"
bind MWHEELUP "weapprev"

seta sv_master1 "master3.idsoftware.com"
seta sv_master2 "master0.gamespy.com"
seta sv_master3 "master.kali.net"
seta sv_master4 "clanservers.net"

/// autoexec belongs in "C:\Program Files\Quake III Arena\baseq3

//Hud Toggle

bind F7 "vstr hudlookstoggle"
set hudlookstoggle "vstr hudlookson"
set hudlookson "set s_volume 1;set cg_draw2D 1;set cg_drawGun 1;set hudlookstoggle vstr hudlooksoff;echo;echo;echo ^3HudL^1oo^3ks ^2On"
set hudlooksoff "set s_volume 0;set cg_draw2D 0;set cg_drawGun 0;set hudlookstoggle vstr hudlookson;echo;echo;echo ^3HudL^1oo^3ks ^1Off"

//2d Toggle

bind u "vstr twodtoggle"
set twodtoggle "vstr twodon"
set twodon "set cg_draw2D 1;set cg_drawGun 1;set twodtoggle vstr twodoff;echo;echo;echo ^32D ^2On"
set twodoff "set cg_draw2D 0;set cg_drawGun 0;set twodtoggle vstr twodon;echo;echo;echo ^32D ^1Off"

//Sound Toggle

bind i "vstr soundtoggle"
set soundtoggle "vstr soundon"
set soundon "set s_volume 1;set soundtoggle vstr soundoff;echo;echo;echo ^3Sound ^2On"
set soundoff "set s_volume 0;set soundtoggle vstr soundon;echo;echo;echo ^3Sound ^1Off"

//Music Toggle

bind o "vstr musictoggle"
set musictoggle "vstr musicon"
set musicon "set s_musicvolume 1;set musictoggle vstr musicoff;echo;echo;echo ^3Music ^2On"
set musicoff "set s_musicvolume 0;set musictoggle vstr musicon;echo;echo;echo ^3Music ^1Off"

//Fast Sky Toggle

bind p "vstr fastskytoggle"
set fastskytoggle "vstr fastskyon"
set fastskyon "set r_fastsky 1;set fastskytoggle vstr fastskyoff"
set fastskyoff "set r_fastsky 0;set fastskytoggle vstr fastskyon"

//Lighting Toggle

bind k "vstr gup;cl_noprint 0"
bind l "vstr gdn;cl_noprint 0"
set gdn vstr gam00
set gup vstr gam01
set gam00 "cl_noprint 0;set r_gamma 1.0;set gdn vstr gam00;set gup vstr gam01;echo;echo;echo ^0--You-can't-go-lower-stupid--"
set gam01 "set r_gamma 1.1;set gdn vstr gam00;set gup vstr gam02;echo;echo;echo ^11.1"
set gam02 "set r_gamma 1.2;set gdn vstr gam01;set gup vstr gam03;echo;echo;echo ^11.2"
set gam03 "set r_gamma 1.3;set gdn vstr gam02;set gup vstr gam04;echo;echo;echo ^11.3"
set gam04 "set r_gamma 1.4;set gdn vstr gam03;set gup vstr gam05;echo;echo;echo ^31.4"
set gam05 "set r_gamma 1.5;set gdn vstr gam04;set gup vstr gam06;echo;echo;echo ^31.5"
set gam06 "set r_gamma 1.6;set gdn vstr gam05;set gup vstr gam07;echo;echo;echo ^31.6"
set gam07 "set r_gamma 1.7;set gdn vstr gam06;set gup vstr gam08;echo;echo;echo ^21.7"
set gam08 "set r_gamma 1.8;set gdn vstr gam07;set gup vstr gam09;echo;echo;echo ^21.8"
set gam09 "set r_gamma 1.9;set gdn vstr gam08;set gup vstr gam10;echo;echo;echo ^21.9"
set gam10 "set r_gamma 2.0;set gdn vstr gam09;set gup vstr gam10;echo;echo;echo ^22.0"
dzjepp
Posts: 12839
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2001 8:00 am

Post by dzjepp »

That looks pretty good. You got the most important thing down, which is the connection settings. The other popular thing amongst a lot of people is using low-quality gfx settings for the "pro gamer" type of play. But if you can run this game at a good frame rate as it is I wouldn't worry about it. Let me tell you, having played this game since 2000 no amount of console tweaking will make you a better player, you either gain that from experience or you never reach that plateau. But no matter what, just have fun with it. :)
Zyte
Posts: 888
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 7:00 am

Post by Zyte »

you z4muz you
dzjepp
Posts: 12839
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2001 8:00 am

Post by dzjepp »

1v1?
D'Artagnan
Posts: 468
Joined: Sun May 14, 2000 7:00 am

Post by D'Artagnan »

Maybe you could try
seta cg_fov 115
[url=http://powerquebec.forumpro.fr/][color=red][b]Fast and furious_[/b][/color]That's what it's all about...[/url][img]http://pages.infinit.net/oldman/rank14.gif[/img]
User avatar
Scourge
Posts: 15559
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2002 8:00 am

Post by Scourge »

dzjepp wrote:Let me tell you, having played this game since 2000 no amount of console tweaking will make you a better player, you either gain that from experience or you never reach that plateau. But no matter what, just have fun with it. :)
Truth. I've never reached that plateau but I have fun each and every time I play. Win or lose.
User avatar
Scourge
Posts: 15559
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2002 8:00 am

Post by Scourge »

D'Artagnan wrote:Maybe you could try
seta cg_fov 115
Or maybe /cg_fov 110
§ìgñå
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2000 8:00 am

Re: What all should be in my AUTOEXEC.CFG? post suggestions

Post by §ìgñå »

sir_frags wrote:seta sv_master1 "master3.idsoftware.com"
seta sv_master2 "master0.gamespy.com"
seta sv_master3 "master.kali.net"
seta sv_master4 "clanservers.net"
those settings are only for dedicated servers, not clients. you dont need them.

any SV_ commands are server only.
+JuggerNaut+
Posts: 22175
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 7:00 am

Post by +JuggerNaut+ »

Scourge wrote:
D'Artagnan wrote:Maybe you could try
seta cg_fov 115
Or maybe /cg_fov 110
or perhaps cg_fov 107
User avatar
Scourge
Posts: 15559
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2002 8:00 am

Post by Scourge »

109. Final offer.
123kid
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:17 pm

Post by 123kid »

isnt the field of view monitor specific , i have a 15'' monitor and play with 130 fov :)
JB
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:31 am

Post by JB »

if the monitor is curved, sure.
JB
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:31 am

Post by JB »

the only thing monitor dependant is the resolution. Which, for a 15" should probably be 1024x768 or maybe 1440x900 if its really new and high quality.
Locked