map editing difficaulties; please help

Discussion for Level editing, modeling, programming, or any of the other technical aspects of Quake
Post Reply
mcelf
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:51 pm

map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by mcelf »

Hi, i am actually new to the Q3radient editor, and i have been having a lot of difficulties. Call me a N00B but i have been trying to make a map for Wolfinstein :rtcw: enemy territory,
without sucsess. When i press ~, and when i type (/devmap (map name), it says 'Can't find map maps/(map name).bsp, and it happens with every map i make! :mad: >:( :tear: :cry: !!!! am i doing somthing wrong? i have [converted] it to .bsp_fastvis. Please help me! :D oh, and good on ID ( :up: :id: for making Q3radient publicly.
dichtfux
Posts: 571
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:51 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by dichtfux »

You need to compile the .map file using the the q3map(2) compiler. You can do this from radiant by using the "build" menu. This process creates a .bsp file if successful, you should then have the file $QUAKE3/baseq3/maps/yourmap.bsp. Don't rename it.

If that file doesn't show up, something went wrong. Try opening the console in radiant or start q3map2 from the command line of your OS to get the error message and post it here if that's the case.
[color=#FFFFFF][url=http://maps.rcmd.org]my FPS maps[/url][/color]
^misantropia^
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 6:24 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by ^misantropia^ »

On a side note, you need to start the game with "+set sv_pure 0".
obsidian
Posts: 10970
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 8:00 am

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by obsidian »

On a side, side note, sv_pure 0 tells the game to look for assets (maps, textures, etc.) outside of the compressed .pk3s in the folders sitting in your game directory.
mcelf
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by mcelf »

OK, i have tested adding the extra code, as misantropia and obsidian suggested, but i think it is an error in the compiling process, because i checked on the list of last edited, and some of my maps are .bsp, but most are map. Do you just have to keep compiling it until it does or do you have to change [format?], i.e.: bsp_fullvis, i am currently compiling with fastvis, as suggested in the tutorial. However, even the ones that say .bsp, arent really, because the console comes out with 'Can't find map maps/(map name).bsp :ducky:
ShadoW_86
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:20 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by ShadoW_86 »

Are you shure your map compiles properly? I mean is it passing bsp process, without any leaks warning, or any other interuptions? Try to just compile map with bsp option only (Bsp single) and then chech out if it runs. If bsp compilation can't be finished for some reason, there should be proper message in console (in radiant).
[url]http://shadowsdomain.wordpress.com/[/url]
User avatar
GONNAFISTYA
Posts: 13369
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 8:20 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by GONNAFISTYA »

Also try running a regular, full vis (instead of just fast vis).

The vis section of compile is usually very quick so setting it to "fastvis" doesn't save a whole lot of time...IIRC.
mcelf
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by mcelf »

I think it's an error, is radient meant to close after compilation? That's what it is doing.
dichtfux
Posts: 571
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:51 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by dichtfux »

Hm, not really. it may be setup to run the map after compile (in the q3a engine) though, check the preferences in Radiant to see what it's supposed to do.

You should also have a look for q3map errors. I think pressing 'o' in Radiant will bring up the console, do this right after you started to compile the map using the build menu and watch out for errors.
[color=#FFFFFF][url=http://maps.rcmd.org]my FPS maps[/url][/color]
mcelf
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by mcelf »

is there any way other than the devmap to test maps, like archiving it and openening it as a proper map of somthing? :miffed:
Plan B
Posts: 3599
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2001 8:00 am

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by Plan B »

Post your compile log, please.
Shallow
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:58 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by Shallow »

For Wolf:ET the minimal requirements for setting up a map are more complex than most other Q3-engine games. I'm not sure how many folk here have really dabbled in that game so make sure that the 'first map' tutorial you are following is specific to that game!

The minimal command sequence to load a map in W:ET is:

/sv_pure 0
/g_gametype 2
/devmap mapname

This is because the default game type is campaign, and will only load maps that have been made part of a campaign.

If it still won't load then there probably is a problem with the compile and you should post your log as PlanB said.
mcelf
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by mcelf »

It might not be just W:ET because Q3A,Q3TA,and Cod don't work either, even when the right paths are set for them. Also, i can't post the compile log because radient closes every time compile is executed. It shows the 3 steps in the console and then it closes. Anybody know if it's supposed to do that? if it's not, is it worth a try reinstalling radient.
mcelf
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by mcelf »

Oh, and also, (refering to shallow's comment) are u saying that its not worth bothering with W:ET, so i should just be content with Q3A. Are Q3TA and Cod more complex than Q3 as well then?
Detoeni
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 7:00 am

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by Detoeni »

grab this:
http://hro.planetquake.gamespy.com/quake_3/?page_id=8

It will allow you to compile outside radiant, and has options for writing a log.

compile with the following for et + tick log stage

BSP = -meta -mv 1024 -mi 6144 -v
VIS = -saveprt -v
LIGHT = -fast -samples 2 -v -external -lightmapsize 256
Shallow
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:58 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by Shallow »

mcelf wrote:Oh, and also, (refering to shallow's comment) are u saying that its not worth bothering with W:ET, so i should just be content with Q3A. Are Q3TA and Cod more complex than Q3 as well then?
Not at all, I think you should map for whichever game most appeals to you. I'm saying that questions specific to Enemy Territory entities etc. might take longer to answer here because I think only a few of the regulars have the pool of specialist knowledge required to answer those questions. (I hope no-one feels that's an especially unfair observation!) For example, I know a fair bit about the entities/map side of W:ET but a dangerously small amount about scripting.

So you sometimes have to wait for the more knowledgable folk to stick their head around the door to get help with objective scripting for example, which people usually get stuck on for their first ET map. Detoeni here knows a thing or two I believe!

Lots of us do know a bunch about stuff that is needed for a decent ET map though, like sound optimal construction methods and how to make awesome terrain ;)
Silicone_Milk
Posts: 2237
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:49 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by Silicone_Milk »

I miss the days of Quake 3 where the most complex things to worry about (excluding shaders) were trigger_hurt, trigger_multiple, and trigger_push :P

Now for the newer games mappers seem to have to know how to program too. (Talking more specifically about CoD 4)

I wish things were kept simpler than they are.
Detoeni
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 7:00 am

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by Detoeni »

Aye, I know a little, but I am also just a little rusty.
mcelf
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: map editing difficaulties; please help

Post by mcelf »

Well thats bad, i made a map that has pools of green slime that r meant to hurt you in contact, so that is what trigger_hurt is meant to do, right?

but to the point of this forum; i got some good news:

Now, on two of my maps don't make the computer not think they are there; it says somthing very quickly on-screen, and then it returns to the main menu. Thanks to xfire's new in-game video recording system, i have managed to record a video of this and freeze-frame on the message. This is what it says:

LOADING TEST1

CONNECTING TO LOCALHOST

LOADING... MAPS/TEST1.BSP


CHEATS ARE ENABLED

FREE FOR ALL

FRAGLIMMIT 20

note this only happens on Q3A, not :rtcw: :offended:
any ideas :?: :?: :?: :?:
Post Reply