Compiling new UI problems

Locked
menorian
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 12:23 pm

Compiling new UI problems

Post by menorian »

hello,

I was just wondering if anyone here know why i get link errors when i try to compile the new UI (uix86_new.dll) with the latest source?
everything else works and compiles fine, the project compiles and works with the old UI, but not the new one, and i have not altered anything in this code. And i don't want to download some already altered q3 source (ioquake3 etc).
This only happens on Release btw, it works on debug.

Here is what i get when i try to compile it:

ui fatal error LNK1120: 13 unresolved externals
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _UI_Alloc referenced in function _UI_ParseInfos
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _va referenced in function _UI_ParseInfos
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _Com_Printf referenced in function _UI_ParseInfos
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _Info_SetValueForKey referenced in function _UI_ParseInfos
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _Q_strncpyz referenced in function _UI_ParseInfos
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _COM_ParseExt referenced in function _UI_ParseInfos
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _COM_Parse referenced in function _UI_ParseInfos
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _String_Alloc referenced in function _UI_LoadArenas
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _Info_ValueForKey referenced in function _UI_LoadArenas
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _UI_OutOfMemory referenced in function _UI_LoadArenas
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _uiInfo referenced in function _UI_LoadArenas
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _COM_Compress referenced in function _UI_LoadBotsFromFile
ui error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _Q_stricmp referenced in function _UI_GetBotInfoByName

Thanks,
^misantropia^
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 6:24 pm

Re: Compiling new UI problems

Post by ^misantropia^ »

The COM_* and Q_* stuff comes from the code in qcommon/ so you'll want to link against that.
menorian
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 12:23 pm

Re: Compiling new UI problems

Post by menorian »

thanks, i had a run over it and i added ".\ui.def" to the module definition file under linker in the UI project manage to get it down to one error,
now it says: ui error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol vmMain

any ideas about that?
^misantropia^
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 6:24 pm

Re: Compiling new UI problems

Post by ^misantropia^ »

vmMain lives in q3_ui/ui_main.c. Is that file part of your project?
AnthonyJ
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:51 pm

Re: Compiling new UI problems

Post by AnthonyJ »

IIRC the id project files were setup so that if you tried to build the TA userinterface with the non-TA configuration it would error in that sort of way (they'd excluded the files from the project so that it wouldn't build). Check to see if there is a "Debug TA" config rather than "Debug", and try that.
menorian
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 12:23 pm

Re: Compiling new UI problems

Post by menorian »

ahh okay..
i actually tried "release TA" now and that worked. but i'm curious, wouldn't that compile the TA version of the menu, meaning it will include unnecessary TA code that might error on game run as this is just pure q3?
I tried it ingame and it seemed to run fine, though i get this windows popup message saying (You are about to load a .DLL executable that has not been verified for use with Quake III Arena. Select 'OK' if you choose to load it anyway. [OK] [CANCEL])
Any ideas on how to get rid of that message?

thanks.
AnthonyJ
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:51 pm

Re: Compiling new UI problems

Post by AnthonyJ »

com_blindlyloaddlls 1 or whatever it is will disable the message (tab completion should get you the right cvar name). Or building QVMs, which is the correct way to distribute it once you're done debugging.

As for it including TA code.... well, the "new" ui is the TA menu, you want the "old" ui if you want the Q3 menus. IIRC, the TA menu doesnt work properly without the TA media (esp the scripts that configure how the menu looks), but its probably not actually loading your "new ui" dll anyway, as its probably not named uix86.dll.

You can build and run the TA versions of game/cgame, but again not everything will work without the TA media (eg the new weapons will show with bad models if you were to give yourself them).
menorian
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 12:23 pm

Re: Compiling new UI problems

Post by menorian »

i've sorted it out, thanks anyway
Locked