Mod Bot Health

Locked
dmillz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 4:24 am

Mod Bot Health

Post by dmillz »

A couple of my friends and I have been trying unsuccessfully to edit a bot in Q3 Arena to increase its health. We wish to create a "boss" type bot with a large amount of health to make a new game mode where you have to kill the "boss". Any help would be awesome!
^misantropia^
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 6:24 pm

Re: Mod Bot Health

Post by ^misantropia^ »

Are you editing the bot files - the pseudo-C files in botfiles/bots/ - or creating a mod with the SDK?
dmillz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 4:24 am

Re: Mod Bot Health

Post by dmillz »

All we've tried so far is editing the C code for the bots in both the bots files and in the game files (AI code). We had no problems changing a players health but have found no way to change a bots health. Did various searches on the internet and it seems that noone has ever tried to increase the AI health, just how smart they are...
^misantropia^
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 6:24 pm

Re: Mod Bot Health

Post by ^misantropia^ »

From the viewpoint of the game, a bot is nothing but another player. A quick hack that comes to mind is adding this to G_Damage() in game/g_combat.c:

Code: Select all

if (targ->r.svFlags & SVF_BOT) {
    damage /= 2;
}
dmillz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 4:24 am

Re: Mod Bot Health

Post by dmillz »

I thought so, which is why I was so surprised that modifying its health is so difficult. Apparently one of the other members of my team managed to figure it out late last night. Thanks for your help, I think we will implement your idea to reduce damage as well!
User avatar
MKJ
Posts: 32581
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2000 8:00 am

Re: Mod Bot Health

Post by MKJ »

lowering the difficulty also increases their handicap.
it is indeed odd that health and AI are interwoven like that
Locked