Quake3World.com Forums
     General Discussion
        Minecraft - Anyone into it?


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Re: Minecraft - Anyone into it?

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 10-01-2010 04:08 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


For those of you who paid for the alpha, feel free to connect to my server to check out the contraption I mentioned in my previous post.

It's about 66% completed.

Type "minecraft.siliconemilk.com" instead of an ip-address.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42655
PostPosted: 10-01-2010 08:12 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I connected to your server and tried to put up a sign but I couldn't mine any blocks. Is that an admin setting or an unfortunate case of lag?




Top
                 

foolproof
foolproof
Joined: 11 Jan 2001
Posts: 7927
PostPosted: 10-01-2010 09:09 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Really digging this concept.

But afraid about getting hooked, calling in sick, and spending the next few weeks in my pyjamas, eating ketchup, pissing into a bottle, and going robo on this beeatch :(
Not that life would be very different, but at least now I dispense my time over several games, and have the odd slice of "real life" thrown in, hehe.




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 10-01-2010 01:27 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser wrote:
I connected to your server and tried to put up a sign but I couldn't mine any blocks. Is that an admin setting or an unfortunate case of lag?


Depends on the block type. With your case it may be lag. I'd have to see you trying to mine the blocks to know though.




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 28 Nov 2000
Posts: 9847
PostPosted: 10-01-2010 02:02 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


EDIT: it's now mc.quake3world.com

ok testing out server....
ciole.net

try it out and leave your mark ;)




Last edited by mjrpes on 10-05-2010 11:28 AM, edited 1 time in total.

Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 10 Feb 2000
Posts: 28023
PostPosted: 10-01-2010 05:57 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


me and Stu Wrecked some shit in there,

found so much gold, iron, crystal, and red shit :D




Top
                 

bling bling
bling bling
Joined: 01 Nov 2000
Posts: 11946
PostPosted: 10-01-2010 07:00 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


word. we got a nice mining area started. mrd just got on and started making an underground forest too.

i'll prob get on later again. so much fun.




Top
                 

bling bling
bling bling
Joined: 01 Nov 2000
Posts: 11946
PostPosted: 10-01-2010 10:01 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


epic skylight. looks like the server died though?




Top
                 

bling bling
bling bling
Joined: 01 Nov 2000
Posts: 11946
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 02:33 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


was trying to get a screenshot of the fire and then things went tits up. :(




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 03:42 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Here's something I was working on earlier today for about an hour...

Image




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 2464
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 04:43 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


been building a mountain fortress and a underground aquaduct. waters a bit funny...

only got this today and somehow managed to sink 11 hours into it... oh dear




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42655
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 09:25 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Silicone_Milk wrote:
Here's something I was working on earlier today for about an hour...

Image


Eh, that's an import isn't it?

I'm afraid I didn't get much further than building myself a whole three floor house:
Image




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 11:11 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Import? No. I laid those blocks down by hand.




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 28 Nov 2000
Posts: 9847
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 11:15 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


fire from epic sky lava flow

Image




Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 33940
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 11:40 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


holy mother of shitdicks wtf is this nonsense? 0_o




Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 33940
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 12:25 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


looks like doom, but in 3D




Top
                 

Mentor
Mentor
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 3958
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 01:05 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Now build something Freudian.




Top
                 

Bück Dich
Bück Dich
Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 6108
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 02:04 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


i dont quite understand the appeal. why would i make pixelated block things in this instead of just making a map in hammer/radiant/some other map editor/creation tool?

it's like making something in playdoh where all the other kids try to smash up what you're making when there's plasticine and super sculpey on the next table with kids playing nicely.



_________________
[size=85]


Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 33940
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 02:56 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


also, how long until /b/ makes a giant swastika?




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43747
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 02:58 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


why is this game using software rendering?
i mean it doesnt have to be the latest and greatest engine but some opengl type rendering may make it 200x easier on the eyes.




Top
                 

Bück Dich
Bück Dich
Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 6108
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 02:58 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


i think they already have, they've made multiple incarnations of the twin towers



_________________
[size=85]


Top
                 

god xor reason
god xor reason
Joined: 08 Dec 1999
Posts: 21100
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 03:57 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


MKJ wrote:
why is this game using software rendering?
i mean it doesnt have to be the latest and greatest engine but some opengl type rendering may make it 200x easier on the eyes.

:dork:




Top
                 

Mentor
Mentor
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 3958
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 05:05 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


It's OpenGL, actually.




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 10 Feb 2000
Posts: 28023
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 06:48 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Wow, The gold armor is SO weak!




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 10-02-2010 07:10 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


^misantropia^ wrote:
It's OpenGL, actually.


^ this.

The voxels are converted in to polygons and sorted in display lists for opengl.




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43747
PostPosted: 10-03-2010 02:53 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


oh noes, i didnt know the exact renderer it uses.
my question still stands tho - something the likes of bitwise seem to conveniently ignore - the textures are so low res it actually looks like a software renderer.
again, why must it be so hard on the eyes :[




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 10-03-2010 03:24 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


get a high-res texture pack replacement then?




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 2464
PostPosted: 10-03-2010 03:34 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


i like it, reminds me of the old days...




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 10-03-2010 04:14 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Just spent a couple hours debugging the damn lock.

A single torch underneat a wire (two floors) was fucking the entire input up.




Top
                 

god xor reason
god xor reason
Joined: 08 Dec 1999
Posts: 21100
PostPosted: 10-03-2010 07:26 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


MKJ wrote:
oh noes, i didnt know the exact renderer it uses.
my question still stands tho - something the likes of bitwise seem to conveniently ignore - the textures are so low res it actually looks like a software renderer.
again, why must it be so hard on the eyes :[

I think the textures he used serve to stylize whereas proper modern texturing would look off when everything is rendered out of cubes. I'm sure it also helps with performance.

I would also venture a bet that he did 8-bit style because he was able to do it himself as opposed to sharing his profits with an artist.




Top
                 

Long and Strong
Long and Strong
Joined: 17 Mar 2000
Posts: 9070
PostPosted: 10-03-2010 10:06 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I spend about 6 hours in this last night, and damn I'm hooked. I just got my single player map and all my items on my multiplayer server so I can get some friends in for some good time wasting...




Top
                 

Mentor
Mentor
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 3958
PostPosted: 10-03-2010 10:18 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


MKJ wrote:
again, why must it be so hard on the eyes :[

Because it's just one guy making it (and a programmer at that).




Top
                 

Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Messatsu Ko Jy-ouu
Joined: 24 Nov 2000
Posts: 43747
PostPosted: 10-03-2010 10:21 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


youd think calculated gradients and opaque colours would be faster amirite :j




Top
                 

4days Joined: 15 Apr 2002
Posts: 8193
PostPosted: 10-03-2010 10:28 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


^misantropia^ wrote:
(and a programmer at that).

the friends i've lost to minecraft have given a number of explanations for the visual style, but i think you've nailed it :)




Top
                 

Elite
Elite
Joined: 28 Nov 2000
Posts: 9847
PostPosted: 10-03-2010 03:56 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


ok i have finished the game. i'll leave the server up until it gets no use. did i read somewhere that the server runtime gets auto updated?




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | General Discussion


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group