Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Re: EntityPlus - A single player Q3 mod

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 10-13-2011 04:04 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


fkd, to get 1.4 to save this is what I did:

Go to Edit->Preferences->Interface->Layout and uncheck "use win32 file load dialog".

1.4 saves fine for me now running as administrator on Windows 7




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 2463
PostPosted: 10-13-2011 06:31 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


excellent! thanks Silicone :up:




Top
                 

Immortal
Immortal
Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 10-13-2011 09:17 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


np eraser's the one that poinyed that out for me




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 10-19-2011 06:03 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I have uploaded a new version of the mod which brings it up to version 1.0.2. It contains a number of fixes, including one that should solve the 0 out of 0 secrets for deqer's map.

Full list of fixes:
  • [Fixed] Game stops responding when spawning a bot whose waypoints are all inside solids or unreachable.
  • [Fixed] Final scoreboard does not display the correct total number of secrets for campaigns with more than 2 maps.
  • [Fixed] Picking up backpack that should contain BFG gives player a shotgun.
  • [Fixed] Backpack that is dropped when player has ammo for a weapon he doesn't have will give that weapon to the player when backpack is picked up.
  • [Fixed] Maps with a minversion of "1.0.1" are marked as incompatible.

Get it here:
http://code.google.com/p/entityplus/dow ... -1.0.2.zip




Top
                 

Commander
Commander
Joined: 25 Nov 2006
Posts: 101
PostPosted: 10-19-2011 12:55 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Amazing mod.
Great ideas.
Love to get into this...
====
rondom thought...
Perhaps (standard/custom)DM maps as SP to play a 'boss'. (1 vs 1)
Wich get thougher each time you frag him.
Or like you start with one bot opponent and as a finale 1 vs 3 or 4...
====
:up:



_________________
slugs and rockets


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 26 Nov 2009
Posts: 339
PostPosted: 10-25-2011 02:49 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Talking of single player... do you know that one?

http://planetquake.gamespy.com/View.php ... il&id=1663

I can delete this post again if you not want it here.

@Silicone: Thanks for the tip. Works fine here, too, now. Finally I can use my editor as I love him.




Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1747
PostPosted: 11-15-2011 04:35 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser wrote:
deqer wrote:
- ending scoreboard secret count is inaccurate across campaign.


I've fixed this for the upcoming release of EntityPlus.
I want to run a few other tests regarding preserving data across map changes because I'm not sure if everything works as it should be. I'm actually thinking of releasing a v1.0.2 to fix any such issues. Need to look into it some more though.

Do you can add also saving function to game? It's for two things, when the game cannot be saved...



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 11-16-2011 12:32 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Saving is not possible yet and while it's something I want to implement some time, I can't tell you when (and even if) this will happen.

I don't know what you mean with "It's for two things" :shrug:




Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2162
PostPosted: 11-16-2011 03:43 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


You can make it (easyer) by having a save spot system, instead of allowing players to save at any time they feel like.

Eg.
Add a "info_save" to a trigger_once more or less.



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 05 Mar 2010
Posts: 354
PostPosted: 11-16-2011 06:40 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote





Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1747
PostPosted: 11-16-2011 07:36 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser wrote:
Saving is not possible yet and while it's something I want to implement some time, I can't tell you when (and even if) this will happen.

I don't know what you mean with "It's for two things" :shrug:

I need to save the game, when I'm quicking game without challenge completing.

And the save function may be freely usefulness, not an autosaving by trigger...



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 11-16-2011 07:46 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Well, you know, I'm not really in a hurry to implement save games for two reasons. First, it's a LOT of work to implement this and I'm not having that much time. Second reason is that I doubt its usefulness. I don't think there will be EntityPlus maps that take more than half an hour to play through and I think that's short enough for players to do in one single sitting without saving.




Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1747
PostPosted: 11-16-2011 07:49 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser wrote:
Well, you know, I'm not really in a hurry to implement save games for two reasons. First, it's a LOT of work to implement this and I'm not having that much time. Second reason is that I doubt its usefulness. I don't think there will be EntityPlus maps that take more than half an hour to play through and I think that's short enough for players to do in one single sitting without saving.

OK, some maps are short, but any other can be very complex and it'll take more than two hours of gameplay in example.

TheMuffinMan wrote this link: http://rfactory.org/singleSaveGame.html.



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 11-16-2011 07:50 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Yeeeeaahhhh I think I'll just wait for those to actually appear, k?

edit:
Before I piss anyone off: save games are on my todo list. I just can't give an ETA for it because I'm being busy with 101 other things as well.




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 298
PostPosted: 11-16-2011 08:39 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Personally, I don't like the save-game option.

---

I also personally feel that a save-game feature is way out of scope for this mod. This mod is simply to give us more entities--unless I'm missing/misunderstanding something.




Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1747
PostPosted: 11-16-2011 09:58 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


deqer wrote:
Personally, I don't like the save-game option.

---

I also personally feel that a save-game feature is way out of scope for this mod. This mod is simply to give us more entities--unless I'm missing/misunderstanding something.

OK, we wait for some very complex challenge, that have many hours of gameplay and then we'll wait for saving function, yeah?
Why not just ask for prevent from need to immediatelly quit game without completing challenge? If you cannot complete challenge and you must quit the game, the saving function can help with it.



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 298
PostPosted: 11-16-2011 10:04 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


CZghost wrote:
If you cannot complete challenge and you must quit the game, the saving function can help with it.

You have a good point.

I guess what I meant was, I like the idea of the old days when you left the old Nintendo running all night so that you could finish Dr. Wily in the morning after defeating all 8 bots without a save point. I did not think that the programmers were lazy; I think they did it on purpose as a sign of having the player prove he has the skill to make it through without saving. ; )




Top
                 

The hell good boy
The hell good boy
Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1747
PostPosted: 11-16-2011 10:41 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


deqer wrote:
You have a good point.

Thank you, like in RTCW, the player could be able to save game throught menu.



_________________
[ CZghost Gaming | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram ]
When you are worst off in your life, turn to face the sun and all the shadows will fall behind you.” - John Lennon


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 11-17-2011 01:37 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


deqer wrote:
I did not think that the programmers were lazy; I think they did it on purpose as a sign of having the player prove he has the skill to make it through without saving. ; )


No, that really was an issue of the memory to store a save game not being there.




Top
                 

surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nomarks
Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 1005
PostPosted: 11-17-2011 06:58 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Yeah, the n64 required a controler pack for saving game states.



_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 11-23-2011 11:48 PM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


New main menu. I'm thinking of having a different screenshot in the background though. Or maybe have a bunch of them and randomly rotate through them.
There's a bit of a grain filter applied over it as well, but you can't really see it in the video. In the video it's like the image is shaking a bit, but that's the grain filter.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 12-19-2011 02:44 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


EntityPlus 1.1 released!
Woohoo! I just released version 1.1 of the mod and it's packed with new stuff. The complete changes list is as follows:

  • [Added] "cg_paintballMode" and "cg_bigheadMode" cvars
  • [Added] Top 5 of scores are saved now instead of just the high score and viewable through scores menu.
  • [Added] target_botremove entity.
  • [Added] target_music entity.
  • [Added] "dmg" and "radius" keys to func_breakable.
  • [Added] "breaksound" key to func_breakable.
  • [Added] func_breakable entities can be targeted and will break upon activation.
  • [Added] "startsound" and "endsound" keys to func_train.
  • [Added] "nobots" and "nohumans" keys to func_door and func_door_rotating.
  • [Added] "FADE" spawnflag and "startcolor", "endcolor" and "wait" keys for target_effect.
  • [Added] "ONCE" spawnflag to target_relay.
  • [Added] "WP_GAUNTLET" spawnflag to target_botspawns. Botspawns without this spawnflag now spawn bots without Gauntlet.
  • [Added] "lockedsound" and "unlockedsound" keys to trigger_lock.
  • [Added] "fov" key to info_camera.
  • [Added] "NO_BOTS" and "NO_HUMANS" spawnflags to all shooter_* entities.
  • [Added] "SILENT" spawnflag to all item pickup (item_*, weapon_*, holdable_*, ammo_*) entities.
  • [Added] "objectivesoverlay" key to worldspawn entity.
  • [Added] "enablebreath" and "enabledust" keys to worldspawn entity.
  • [Added] "position" console command to get current player position coordinates.
  • [Added] "g_debugVariables", "g_debugBotspawns" and "g_debugScore" cvars.
  • [Added] "g_disableCutscenes" cvar.
  • [Added] "g_disableScripts" cvar.
  • [Added] "g_enableBreath" and "g_enableDust" cvars.
  • [Added] Support for longname, author and description through arena files.
  • [Added] "Loading..." text and icon is displayed when map is loading.
  • [Fixed] target_unlink does not work on func_bobbing entities.
  • [Fixed] Bots get stuck in each other when they should be telefragged.
  • [Fixed] Lightning gun, Railgun and BFG idle sounds continue playing during cutscenes.
  • [Fixed] Shooting the machinegun into the void (in a leaked map) crashes the game.
  • [Fixed] Music is audible for a short time when s_musicvolume is set to 0 and death screen or end-game scoreboard is shown.
  • [Fixed] Menu item mouseover sound effect is played when mouse is moved over "EntityPlus" title in main menu.
  • [Changed] Removed all gametypes from the game. Setting g_gametype to 8 is no longer necessary.
  • [Changed] Scores are calculated differently.
  • [Changed] End-game scoreboard specifies accuracy bonus and skill bonus seperately now.
  • [Changed] New stylized icon for backpack.
  • [Changed] Particles from target_effect are slightly bigger now so they are better visible.
  • [Changed] Bodies of dead bots sink into the floor and no longer pop out of existence.
  • [Changed] Increased max ammo amount for all weapons from 200 to 999.
  • [Changed] Cameras now take shortest yaw and roll paths.
  • [Changed] "setviewpos" console command no longer applies teleporter kick and allows setting of pitch, yaw and roll as well.
  • [Changed] Value of "cg_marks" determines how long wallmarks stay.
  • [Changed] "g_listEntity" is now cheat protected, accepts a value of 2 to only list in-use entity slots and prints out in-use entity count.
  • [Changed] Allowed the use of cg_drawTimer again when cheats are enabled. Timer also displays milliseconds.
  • [Changed] Objectives text in objectives overlay automatically wraps to next line without breaking words.
  • [Changed] All debris related spawnflags on target_debrisemitter and func_breakable are now named DEBRIS_[type].
  • [Changed] New main menu artwork.

So what are some of the highlights? Well to start off, we got a whole bunch of new entities, keys and spawnflags to play with. See the complete list for these changes. Another important (but not very apparent) change is the fact that g_gametype is ignored now, so it's no longer necessary to set it to 8 before starting a map through the console. Now I'll list some of the bigger new features:

New scoring system
There is a new scoring system. Unfortunately this means that you'll lose your old highscore. I decided to do that because with the new system, I expect high scores to be somewhat lower than before, so a reset is probably a good thing. What you get in return is a top 5 instead of just a high score, and each score is broken up into the seperate elements that form the final score. A high scores table is viewable in the menus and it'll tell you exactly what your accuracy was, on what skill you played and how many secrets you found.

New main menu
The artwork for the main menu has been completely redone. Obsidian was kind enough to give me a screenshot of his "Stonehenge"-like map. He also designed a logo for the mod and made a 3D model out of it, which is on display in the main menu. This basically means that the video I posted above is obsolete :)

Paintball mode!
I've posted a screenshot of it before, but here's a new one again:
Image
Paintball mode can be enabled in the Setup > Game options menu (or by setting cg_paintballMode to 1). When enabled, your weapons will shoot paintballs that leave colorful marks on the wall with a nice "splat" sound. They aren't any less lethal though.

Big Head mode!
This can be enabled in the game options menu as well. When enabled, all your enemies have... well... very large heads.
Image

Minimum version
With the introduction of version 1.1 of the mod, it's possible to use features that aren't present in 1.0. This means that anyone that downloads your map who isn't running version 1.0 will not get to experience the map as intended (which possibly even prevents the player from completing the map). Because of this, I've made it possible to specify a "minversion" in the .arena file of your map. If supplied, the game will check if the specified minversion is supported by the mod. If not, a yellow "requires version X.X" text will be superimposed on the map selection button. But how do you, as a mapper, know what minimum version is required to run your map? Of course it's safe enough to just specify the version of the mod that you're running yourself, but that may not always be necessary because you aren't using any new features. So to solve this problem, I've made the MinVersionTool (download link can be found below). This commandline tool analyses a .map file and reports the minimum version that you'll need to run that map. More information about the minversion in .arena files can be found in the manual.

So, some download links:
- EntityPlus 1.1.1
- The v1.1 manual
- The MinVersionTool

Enjoy!


p.s.
In the next few days, I'll be releasing my own EntityPlus single player map. Keep an eye out for it :)




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12305
PostPosted: 12-19-2011 07:22 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Cool. It'll be easier to tinker with the menu items locally now.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 

Grunt
Grunt
Joined: 10 Jun 2009
Posts: 64
PostPosted: 12-19-2011 11:35 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I don't know if it's a mod problem or a level problem but in krep1, I cannot go pass the open door after the fight against Anarki (and presumably the other two dudes as well).

Image




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 12-20-2011 01:00 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Looks like there's some clip brush in the way. It didn't happen with version 1.0.2 of the mod (the previous release) so I'll see if I can figure out what's wrong.

edit:
Wow, I added a whole load of debugging code specifically for this case to figure out what was wrong. Turns out that there's a door made out of clip brushes that blocks the way. When you come in the door is closed. When you defeat the bot, its death should trigger the invisible door to open again. For some reason though, there is a "nobots" key on that invisible door. That "nobots" key is, as far as I'm aware, something that isn't supported in base Quake 3 nor was it in v1.0 (and v1.0.1 or v1.0.2) of the mod. This key was introduced in v1.1 and prevents bots from opening the door, so now suddenly the invisible door refuses to open.

I'm thinking of a good solution for this problem. I'm afraid there isn't a nice one other than specifically checking if we're dealing what that specific door in that specific map and allow the bot to open it. I hate doing ugly hacks like that, but I'm afraid it's the only option I have.

The other option is to have deqer re-release his map, but that might still cause people to update the mod but not the map and be stuck with a broken map, not knowing how to fix it.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 12-20-2011 02:30 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Ok I decided to just go ahead and leave the ugly hack in there. It's just one line of code so I can live with it.
I've uploaded a new version of the mod (1.1.1) which fixes the problem with the invisible doors You can download it here.




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 43
PostPosted: 12-20-2011 04:34 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Eraser, what happened to the conveyor that you were making a while ago? I was looking forward to that feature.




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 12-20-2011 04:40 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Oh, right. I put it in the fridge because it wasn't working out as I wanted it to and kind of forgot about it. I'll make a mental note to have another go at it.




Top
                 

Trainee
Trainee
Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 43
PostPosted: 12-20-2011 04:54 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Ok. =^)

(sorry for the sudden random question.)




Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 12-20-2011 04:56 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


No problem. It's what keeps me going :)




Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 28 Apr 2008
Posts: 527
PostPosted: 12-21-2011 04:16 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


The MOD's getting along pretty well, if only I had had time to take part in the test and suggest phase during the last 17 pages of this wonderful thread. :tear: Nevertheless: Definitely a :up: MOD

ad notbot issue: I believe that in an old map of mine I managed to get that thing working? Whatever, how about experimenting a bit with the botdonotenter clip to seal off specific areas? Would this help in any way?



_________________
If you are caught on a golf course during a storm and are afraid of lightning, hold up a 1-iron. Not even God can hit a 1-iron.
-Lee Trevino, golfer who actually has been struck by lightning.


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 12-21-2011 04:24 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


monaster wrote:
The MOD's getting along pretty well, if only I had had time to take part in the test and suggest phase during the last 17 pages of this wonderful thread. :tear: Nevertheless: Definitely a :up: MOD



If you have any suggestions, feel free to let me know. I might actually get to implementing some of them, who knows. In my experience though, the most changes come from hands-on experience with mapping now. Most of those entities and keys that have been added in 1.1 are there because I needed them for my own map :)




Top
                 

The Afflicted
The Afflicted
Joined: 28 Apr 2008
Posts: 527
PostPosted: 12-21-2011 04:57 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


So it's still open for suggestions? Good to hear! If I stumble upon any urgently needed implementations I'll let you know for sure.



_________________
If you are caught on a golf course during a storm and are afraid of lightning, hold up a 1-iron. Not even God can hit a 1-iron.
-Lee Trevino, golfer who actually has been struck by lightning.


Top
                 

Cool #9
Cool #9
Joined: 01 Dec 2000
Posts: 42633
PostPosted: 12-21-2011 04:57 AM           Profile   Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


It's always open for suggestions :)




Top
                 

I'm the dude!
I'm the dude!
Joined: 04 Feb 2002
Posts: 12305
PostPosted: 12-21-2011 07:54 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


I see that you updated to 1.1.1 so I updated the 1.1.0 link in your post above.



_________________
GtkRadiant | Q3Map2 | Shader Manual


Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group