Being the admin- i'd like to Bind a key to display messages..
I did this by accident and cant recall how I did this.
I believe it was in the autoexec.cfg file in the baseq3 folder in Quake II
I don't mind even if a player hits teh key by accident and announces incidentally too.
Thanks!
http://quakepc.webs.com
http://quakepc.com
How to add Bind 'key' to Display a Message during Game?
-
- Posts: 39
- Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 2:02 pm
How to add Bind 'key' to Display a Message during Game?
[b][url]http://www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960[/url][/b]
[img]http://cache.www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960/b_560_95_1.png[/img][b][url]http://www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960[/url][/b]
[img]http://cache.www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960/b_560_95_1.png[/img][b][url]http://www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960[/url][/b]
-
- Posts: 39
- Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 2:02 pm
Re: How to add Bind 'key' to Display a Message during Game?
I meant to display DURING a game..
[b][url]http://www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960[/url][/b]
[img]http://cache.www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960/b_560_95_1.png[/img][b][url]http://www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960[/url][/b]
[img]http://cache.www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960/b_560_95_1.png[/img][b][url]http://www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960[/url][/b]
Re: How to add Bind 'key' to Display a Message during Game?
bind x "say text goes here"
note that say is the command to say something to other players. So basically replace text goes here with whatever you want to say, and replace x with the key you want to bind it to.
If you want to say something only to team mates (in Team Deathmatch, Capture the Flag or other team based games), use say_team instead of say.
note that say is the command to say something to other players. So basically replace text goes here with whatever you want to say, and replace x with the key you want to bind it to.
If you want to say something only to team mates (in Team Deathmatch, Capture the Flag or other team based games), use say_team instead of say.
-
- Posts: 39
- Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 2:02 pm
Re: How to add Bind 'key' to Display a Message during Game?
I've learned that it won't work with a lot of characters. I was trying to have a key for a website and a recommended download. "Go to http://www.uwiefuwe.com dl/l the weapon pack"
That was way to many. So sadly I can.t bind the key with much.
That was way to many. So sadly I can.t bind the key with much.
[b][url]http://www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960[/url][/b]
[img]http://cache.www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960/b_560_95_1.png[/img][b][url]http://www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960[/url][/b]
[img]http://cache.www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960/b_560_95_1.png[/img][b][url]http://www.gametracker.com/server_info/108.178.55.219:27960[/url][/b]
Re: How to add Bind 'key' to Display a Message during Game?
should work with quite a lot of characters, actually. seems like there's sometihng else wrong.
that message sounds more like a motd tho. does vanilla q3 support motd? can't remember tbh
that message sounds more like a motd tho. does vanilla q3 support motd? can't remember tbh
Re: How to add Bind 'key' to Display a Message during Game?
g_motd I think
Re: How to add Bind 'key' to Display a Message during Game?
It should be simply, in console:
whereas x is whatever key you are binding.
Code: Select all
/bind x "say Go to http://www.uwiefuwe.com dl/l the weapon pack."
If by "characters," you mean "models," I don't think it makes any difference whatsoever.uzi9mmauto wrote:I've learned that it won't work with a lot of characters. I was trying to have a key for a website and a recommended download. "Go to http://www.uwiefuwe.com dl/l the weapon pack"
That was way to many. So sadly I can.t bind the key with much.
-
- Posts: 27
- Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:19 pm
Re: How to add Bind 'key' to Display a Message during Game?
Yes the MOTD setting is "g_motd"
To uzi9mmauto,
As well as what you're after, you can also do other tricks too, as such as having a config file in the servers baseq3 directory, with a nice text/color layout (that you design), and set your autoexec to automatically exec the file on the server when you join your game, example code
You start Q3, You connect to your server, you enter the game, server will broadcast whatever is in the config file, I personally use this technique for "administrator signed in" information.
Example:

Another thing you can do is look up a tool called "Hennimation", a multi purpose tool which can also do automatic execing of CFG files, this can be used for automatic server broadcast messages every X amount of minute, of which you can advertise for people to download the weapon pack.
Example of mine:

I hope this information can help you and others out.
To uzi9mmauto,
As well as what you're after, you can also do other tricks too, as such as having a config file in the servers baseq3 directory, with a nice text/color layout (that you design), and set your autoexec to automatically exec the file on the server when you join your game, example code
Code: Select all
//AUTOEXEC CFG - Start
rconpassword "whatever-it-is"
rcon exec "filename.cfg"
//AUTOEXEC CFG - End
Example:

Another thing you can do is look up a tool called "Hennimation", a multi purpose tool which can also do automatic execing of CFG files, this can be used for automatic server broadcast messages every X amount of minute, of which you can advertise for people to download the weapon pack.
Example of mine:

I hope this information can help you and others out.
ts3.wishfulthinkings.net