Highly optimized Q4 config

Locked
Fjoggs
Posts: 2555
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 7:00 am

Highly optimized Q4 config

Post by Fjoggs »

Here's my Quake4 config, optimized for low-end systems. It looks like shit, but that's the charm.
Yeah I know there's plenty of threads about configs, but maybe more will it see here.
I'm still working on it.

Tested on the following system:
Athlon XP 1800+ (My major bottleneck, making it run like shit)
GeForce 6800GT 256mb
1500MB DDR-400.

Playing around on "that red map" (Bloodrose?) alone gives me around 35-60 fps.

Due to me not having any FTP space, i'll post it in code.

Code: Select all

//-----------------------//
//[3x]-Fjoggs' Q4 Config //
//	Do Not Nick      //
//-----------------------//


// 	Weapon Binds		//
//------------------------------//
// Impulse 0 - Gauntlet  	//
// Impulse 1 - Machine Gun  	//
// Impulse 2 - Shotgun  	//
// Impulse 3 - Hyperblaster	//
// Impulse 4 - Grenade Launcher //
// Impulse 5 - Nailgun  	//
// Impulse 6 - Rocket Launcher 	//
// Impulse 7 - Railgun  	//
// Impulse 8 - Lightning Gun  	//
//------------------------------//

bind y 		"_impulse0"
bind v 		"_impulse1"
bind b 		"_impulse2"
bind e	 	"_impulse3"
bind leftalt	"_impulse4"
bind 6 		"_impulse5"
bind t 		"_impulse6"
bind h 		"_impulse7"
bind s 		"_impulse8"
bind mouse1	"_attack"
bind mouse3	"_zoom"					// Works only for MG and RG


// 	Movement Binds		//
//------------------------------//

bind r		"_forward"
bind f		"_back"
bind g		"_moveright"
bind d		"_moveleft"
bind SPACE	"_moveup"
bind z		"_movedown"
bind x		"_speed"

// 	Recording/Chat Binds	//
//------------------------------//

bind F5		"exec cfgs/1on1.cfg"
bind F6		"exec cfgs/tdm.cfg"
bind F7		"exec cfgs/ctf.cfg"
bind F8		"exec cfgs/ffa.cfg"
bind k		"clientmessagemode"
bind l		"clientmessagemode 1"

bind F9		"recordNetDemo Frag-1"
bind F10	"stopNetDemo"
bind F11	"recordDemo Frag-1b"
bind F12	"stopRecording"

bind 5		"say ^7:))"
bind 6		"say ^7:E"

//clientmessagemode 	= Say
//clientmessagemode 1	= Team_say

// 	FPS/Graphic Tweaks	//
//------------------------------//

seta 	image_lodbias			"-1"		// Lodbias 0 caused blurry crosshairs on my system
seta 	g_doubleVision 			"0"		// Image distortion when you get shot - OFF

//------------------------------------------------------// Weapon / Screenbob settings

seta	pm_bobpitch 			"0"		//
seta	pm_bobroll 			"0"		//
seta	pm_bobup 			"0"		//
seta	pm_crouchbob 			"0"		// 
seta	pm_runbob 			"0"		//
seta	pm_runpitch 			"0"		//
seta	pm_runroll 			"0"		//	
seta	pm_walkbob 			"0"		//

//------------------------------------------------------//

seta	g_shadows			"0"
seta	g_decals			"0"
seta	g_bloodEffects			"0"		//
seta	g_earthquake			"0"		// Don't know what this does, but probably some shaky cam stuff.
seta 	g_muzzleflash			"0"		// Probably singleplayer only, but just to be sure
seta 	g_skipparticles			"1"		// 
seta	g_skipFX			"1"		// 
seta 	g_skipvieweffects		"1"		//
seta 	g_projectilelights		"0"		// Haven't noticed any graphical difference, FPS went up by 2.
seta	g_skipitemshadowsMP		"1"		//
seta	g_skipplayershadowsMP		"1"		//
seta 	g_showPlayerShadow 		"0"		//

seta	r_skipspecular			"1"		// Removes specular lighting (FPS Hog) (doesnt allways work?)
seta	r_skipbump			"1"		// Disables bumpmapping, another FPS Hog.
seta	r_skipOverlays			"1"		//
seta	r_skipFogLights			"1"		//
seta	r_skipPostProcess		"1"		//
seta	r_skipBlendLights		"1"		//
seta	r_skipDynamicTextures		"1"		// PS: Use 0 for singeplayer!
seta	r_skipMegaTexture		"1"		//
seta	r_skipTranslucent		"1"		//
seta	r_skipNewAmbient		"1"		//
seta	r_useCachedDynamicModels	"1"		//

seta	r_mode				"3"		// 3 = 640x480
seta	r_gamma				"1.8"		//
seta	r_brightness			"2"		//
seta 	r_usefastskinning		"1"		// Fast = Good ya?
seta	r_usenewskinning		"0"		//
seta	r_usesimpleinteraction		"1"		// 1 = Faster rendering
seta	r_useOptimizedShadows		"1"		// 
seta	r_useDepthBoundsTest		"1"		// Warning, NVIDIA only, and not every drivertype
seta	r_Multisamples			"0"		// Low = Fast

//------------------------------------------------------// The following works like this: Low value = Shit || High Value = Sex

seta	image_roundDown			"1"
seta 	image_downSizeLimit 		"8"				// Picmip
seta 	image_downSizeBumpLimit 	"2"				// Bumpmap-picmip
seta 	image_downSizeSpecularLimit 	"2"				// 
seta 	image_downSizeBump 		"1"				//
seta 	image_downSizeSpecular 		"1"				//
seta 	image_downSize 			"1"				//
seta	image_filter			"GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST"	// GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST = Faster || GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR = Slower

seta	image_useNormalCompression	"1"				//
seta	image_useCompression		"1"				//

seta 	s_useOpenAL 			"0"				// 1 = Low FPS || 0 = High FPS || Limits amounts of sounds playable at once.
seta	s_maxchannelsmixed		"12"				// Maximum number of channels mixed. (duh)
					
// 	FPS/Graphic WIP		//
//------------------------------//
						"0"		// 
seta 	image_ignoreHighQuality 		"1"		// 1 = High FPS || 0 = Low FPS
seta 	image_anisotropy 			"0"		// Not sure

// 	Misc Settings		//
//------------------------------//

seta 	ui_name			"^7Fjoggs"
seta	ui_clan			"^4[^73x^4]
seta 	ui_autoSwitch           "0"
seta	ui_showgun		"0"
seta 	g_fov 			"115"

seta 	com_allowconsole 	"1"
seta 	com_showFPS 		"1"

seta 	g_crosshairCustomFile 	"gfx/guis/crosshairs/crosshair_q3_2.tga"	// q3_2 = The cross in q3
seta 	g_crosshairCustom 	"1"						// 1 = One crosshair for all weapons
seta 	g_crosshairColor 	"1 1 1 1"					// 1 1 1 1 = White || R G B Transparency
seta 	g_crosshairSize 	"48"						// 48 = Extra Large in the menu

seta 	g_decals		"0"
seta 	g_muzzleflash		"0"
seta 	g_projectileLights      "0" 

// 	Net Settings		//
//------------------------------//

seta 	net_clientMaxRate 	"25000"
seta 	net_serverMaxClientRate "15000"
seta 	net_clientLagOMeter 	"1"

seta 	si_fragLimit 		"0"
seta 	si_timeLimit 		"10"
Looks like the code tag fucks up all my alignment in the config, let me know if you want a cleaner looking config, and I'll send it to you.

EDIT: New improved version!
Last edited by Fjoggs on Thu Oct 20, 2005 12:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Rogue
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2000 8:00 am

Post by Rogue »

Thnx m8, will use some of it in my autoexec.cfg :)
basicX
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 8:00 am

Post by basicX »

hi dude, will check it out too ...

btw: we should make some games in q4 :)
Oeloe
Posts: 1529
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 8:00 am

Post by Oeloe »

It would be nice if you put the default cvar values behind your own values, like:

Code: Select all

seta	cl_freelook			"1"				// 1				Freelook.
That way you always have a reference and you can track config errors more easily.

I think i might re-create something like cure's modular config. His config for Q3 owns. :)
SmokeyTreats
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:26 pm

Re: Highly optimized Q4 config

Post by SmokeyTreats »

Fjoggs wrote: Due to me not having any FTP space, i'll post it in code.

[
Send it to me Fjogss and I'll host it.

nick.junk@comcast.net
[img]http://m0jojoj0.homestead.com/files/avatar/smiley_joint.gif[/img]
nightwing
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:58 pm

Post by nightwing »

Nice thanks for posting it

Which graphic does this command relate to? Is it effects or video?

seta image_ignoreHighQuality
Last edited by nightwing on Thu Oct 20, 2005 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fjoggs
Posts: 2555
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 7:00 am

Post by Fjoggs »

SmokeyTreats: Sent!
pookie
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 9:27 pm

Post by pookie »

Thank you for the example. I desperately need to tweak my config. Also, 6 may be bound twice?

bind 6 "_impulse5"
bind 6 "say ^7:E"
SmokeyTreats
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:26 pm

Post by SmokeyTreats »

[img]http://m0jojoj0.homestead.com/files/avatar/smiley_joint.gif[/img]
bork[e]
Posts: 4357
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:00 am

Post by bork[e] »

Oeloe wrote:It would be nice if you put the default cvar values behind your own values, like:

Code: Select all

seta	cl_freelook			"1"				// 1				Freelook.
That way you always have a reference and you can track config errors more easily.

I think i might re-create something like cure's modular config. His config for Q3 owns. :)
well, is q4 not like q3 in this regard...when you type the command only and hit enter it gives the default value?
Fjoggs
Posts: 2555
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 7:00 am

Post by Fjoggs »

You normally edit your CFG in Windows, so that's why he wants it.
I could do that when I have the time.
dzjepp
Posts: 12839
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2001 8:00 am

Post by dzjepp »

This one makes it look pretty shitty as well =o

http://www.inevitabledemise.com/td/q4/
User avatar
hemostick
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2001 8:00 am

Post by hemostick »

Most of the r_ variables "cannot be changed in multiplayer".
And g_fov is capped to the 90-110 range.
Locked