Quake 3 Arena compiling issues (again).

Locked
Vicarious
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 7:18 am

Quake 3 Arena compiling issues (again).

Post by Vicarious »

Well, im very new to Quake 3 coding and i've been following several tutorials on how to do a simple change to the rocket speed. This is what i did:

1. Opened g_missle.c in MSVC 6 and i changed the Vectorscale to 200 (as opposed to the default 900)
2. Saved the project, and selected rebuild all. The project compiled without any errors or warnings.
3. Typed this in console:
cd C:\Quake3
And then, Quake3.exe +set fs_game Mymod +map q3dm1.
When the game ran, i saw no changes in the rocket speed.

My point release and game status are as follows, if it is relevant:
q3pointrelease_132
Q3A_TA_GameSource_129h

If anyone can see where i went wrong and can correct me, i would greatly appreciate it.
TTK-Bandit
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 7:00 am

Post by TTK-Bandit »

AnthonyJ
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:51 pm

Re: Quake 3 Arena compiling issues (again).

Post by AnthonyJ »

1. Why use 1.29 source + 1.32 PR? Use the 1.32 source (although this isnt your problem, as 1.29 will work too).

2. As you're building DLLs not QVM's you must run with +set vm_game 0 to get it to see the game dll, and vm_cgame 0 to get it to see a cgame dll.

3. Once you build a cgame project as well as a game, you'll also need +set sv_pure 0, so that the client can access files outside of pk4's.
Locked