Quake3World.com Forums
     Level Editing & Modeling
        Cliff Pak 1 2005. (DL and Screens)


Post new topicReply to topic
Login | Profile | | FAQ | Search | IRC




Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Topic Starter Topic: Cliff Pak 1 2005. (DL and Screens)

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2153
PostPosted: 08-12-2005 10:02 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Some new textures, fresh (started by 00 done now exactly 08 ;)) from an (one) old photo of a rock.
Three different styles, two versions each, makes six textures total (1024^2). Also, three normal maps for games supporting bumpmaps via normal maps (1024^2). Two grass textures with less detail for terrain reference (512^2).

DL ~20MB
http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/textur ... 1_2005.rar

Screens show all variations. Textures comes as pure TGA. (Game is HL2)

#1
[lvlshot]http://www.zfight.com/misc/images/textures/cliff_pak_1_2005/1_v1.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.zfight.com/misc/images/textures/cliff_pak_1_2005/1_v2.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.zfight.com/misc/images/textures/cliff_pak_1_2005/v1_detail.jpg[/lvlshot]

#2
[lvlshot]http://www.zfight.com/misc/images/textures/cliff_pak_1_2005/2_v1.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.zfight.com/misc/images/textures/cliff_pak_1_2005/2_v2.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.zfight.com/misc/images/textures/cliff_pak_1_2005/v2_detail.jpg[/lvlshot]

#3
[lvlshot]http://www.zfight.com/misc/images/textures/cliff_pak_1_2005/3_v1.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.zfight.com/misc/images/textures/cliff_pak_1_2005/3_v2.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://www.zfight.com/misc/images/textures/cliff_pak_1_2005/v3_detail.jpg[/lvlshot]




Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 33577
PostPosted: 08-13-2005 03:33 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


looks ace. have you included a shader in with them? the grass would look great with some prop_details sprinkled over it




Top
                 

Insane Quaker
Insane Quaker
Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 325
PostPosted: 08-13-2005 05:28 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


looks awesome, I'm in love with the first of #2 <3 !!!




Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2153
PostPosted: 08-13-2005 06:31 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@ Sumatra, thanks, Yea I like that too, its a bit greece over it, it reminds me of Daikatana.

@ Seremtan, no I haven't, actually I forgott it... heh, was tired. A basic HL2 shader for this using bumps would be, I'm sure you know already though.

Code:
"WorldVertexTransition"
{
   "$baseTexture" "hipshot_pn3/cliff_03_v1"
   "$basetexture2" "hipshot_pn3/grass_05"
   "%tooltexture" "hipshot_pn3/cliff_03_v1"
   "$bumpmap" "hipshot_pn3/cliff_03_normal"
   "$bumpmap2" "hipshot_pn3/grass_normal"
}


I've never made any prop_detail terrain before either, I've seen it and was mening to do that sometime, just haven't gotten arround, seems like alot of work for just testing... but as I said, never done it before so I woudeln't know.




Top
                 

blaze a blaze
blaze a blaze
Joined: 29 Jan 2000
Posts: 344
PostPosted: 08-13-2005 07:29 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


[lvlshot]http://www.zfight.com/misc/images/textures/cliff_pak_1_2005/1_v1.jpg[/lvlshot]
Lvlshot is the most underestimated feature of new quake3world forums :p




Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2153
PostPosted: 08-13-2005 07:30 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Sorry, keeps forgetting since I use a res of 1600... I'll try to remember that the next time.



_________________
Q3Map2 2516 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map_2.5.16_win32_x86.zip
Q3Map2 FS_20g -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/q3map2_fs_20g.rar
GtkRadiant 140 -> http://www.zfight.com/misc/files/q3/GtkRadiantSetup-1.4.0-Q3RTCWET.exe


Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 33577
PostPosted: 08-13-2005 08:03 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


yeah me too. i see your mastery of displacements is pretty complete. how do find hammer compared to radiant?

there are a few radiant features i wish hammer had, like wireframes for props in the 2d window instead of just bounding box, and a built in displacement editor like Symo's (for making q3-patch-like shapes, i.e. arches, curves etc) would be nice (Symo's is pretty hopeless actually). but otherwise i find hammer so much more powerful. i love the way the grid snap isn't so strong so you can rotate complex brush-built structures off the grid without distortion (plus the texture map-to-face option is useful alternative to the usual map-to-world).

i just wish valve's modellers hadn't put half the model origins in such stupid places though




Top
                 

blaze a blaze
blaze a blaze
Joined: 29 Jan 2000
Posts: 344
PostPosted: 08-13-2005 01:15 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
Sorry, keeps forgetting since I use a res of 1600... I'll try to remember that the next time.


OK, thanks :icon26: Nice work BTW. Which program did you use to make those rocks?




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 1079
PostPosted: 08-13-2005 02:05 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Damn hipshot, your levels always look beautiful. Amazing...



_________________
The number 1 cause of death in games is panic.
Image


Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 08 Sep 2000
Posts: 1085
PostPosted: 08-13-2005 02:30 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Can you post a screenshot showing the amount of polys used in that sample landscape? (like a wireframe shot) I don't have HL2 handy and Im curious to know how many polys were used across the texture seams.

Thanks
Sock




Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2153
PostPosted: 08-13-2005 03:34 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@ Seremtan, I like hammer, but I like GTk more, there are some functions in hammer that I just don't like, and some things I miss, like the feature to scroll holding down the RMB and just move the mouse, I hate using the scrollbars on the side of each view. And I would like to configure the colors and some other things. I as you, like that I can rotate brushes every which way I want without causing troubles and errors, its very good for more advanced brush details. The displacement editor is good, but can't be used for anything else but landscapes and terrain I think, and still there is things I miss for that, like vertex manipulation.

@ Lukin, they are all based on the same photo, then I used photoshop.

@ Sonic, heh, its more of a test level really :) And its very easy to do things like this in Source.

@ Sock, sure can, this is the most advanced state of mesh possible in Hammer and the current Source build (power of 2), I can make it two steps worse (power of 3 and 4).

[lvlshot]http://img335.imageshack.us/img335/7112/textest00088qm.jpg[/lvlshot]
[lvlshot]http://img335.imageshack.us/img335/9945/textest00109fo.jpg[/lvlshot]

Sorry about the green stuff there, its a so called overlay, and they dont disapear when you hit tris mode.




Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 33577
PostPosted: 08-13-2005 04:43 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
@ Seremtan, I like hammer, but I like GTk more, there are some functions in hammer that I just don't like, and some things I miss, like the feature to scroll holding down the RMB and just move the mouse, I hate using the scrollbars on the side of each view.


you can use the arrow keys. much easier than the scrollbars. one thing that i found hard getting used to was 3 2D viewports, even though you can tab thru the elevations. the radiant setup is better in that respect




Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2153
PostPosted: 08-13-2005 05:04 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


You see, if I use the arrow keys to navigate, I can't use them to nudge selected objects :(
-
I didn't find it hard to get used to the 4 views since I've used to that since Quark.

Btw, I used a premade detailset that valve used, so I didn't hafto make my own, voila, grass...
http://img354.imageshack.us/img354/1494/01v100021qw.jpg




Top
                 

blaze a blaze
blaze a blaze
Joined: 29 Jan 2000
Posts: 344
PostPosted: 08-14-2005 02:05 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
@ Lukin, they are all based on the same photo, then I used photoshop.


I was more curious about a model than about a textures. From what I read now I guess you made this terrain in Hammer. If so then it must be pretty good tool for such stuff.




Top
                 

Pestilence
Pestilence
Joined: 25 Mar 2002
Posts: 15653
PostPosted: 08-14-2005 04:56 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Very nice. :icon14:




Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 1079
PostPosted: 08-14-2005 06:54 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


"@ Sonic, heh, its more of a test level really :) And its very easy to do things like this in Source."

Such a humble man! :icon30:



_________________
The number 1 cause of death in games is panic.
Image


Top
                 

The Illuminated
The Illuminated
Joined: 08 Sep 2000
Posts: 1085
PostPosted: 08-15-2005 06:45 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
@ Sock, sure can, this is the most advanced state of mesh possible in Hammer and the current Source build (power of 2), I can make it two steps worse (power of 3 and 4).


Thanks for the images. The blends between the materials look very good, I assumed you had alot of polys across the seams or something but from the tris image it looks minimal.

How many rows of polys did you leave for the transition between materials?

Sock




Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 33577
PostPosted: 08-15-2005 09:19 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
You see, if I use the arrow keys to navigate, I can't use them to nudge selected objects :(


oh, you just want it all, don't you




Top
                 

Etile
Etile
Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 33577
PostPosted: 08-15-2005 09:22 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


sock wrote:
Hipshot wrote:
@ Sock, sure can, this is the most advanced state of mesh possible in Hammer and the current Source build (power of 2), I can make it two steps worse (power of 3 and 4).


Thanks for the images. The blends between the materials look very good, I assumed you had alot of polys across the seams or something but from the tris image it looks minimal.

How many rows of polys did you leave for the transition between materials?

Sock


once a displacement is created, you can use a vertex 'brush' to invert the alpha from one texture to another (both form the material) - you can even control the transparency of the blend with the 'weight' of the brush (i.e. how long you hold down the LMB). hence you can have two textures blended over a single displacement surface without anything extra needed




Top
                 

Boink!
Boink!
Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 4493
PostPosted: 08-18-2005 11:05 PM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Just added lvlshot to all the first post images to fix the thread. BTW, I have yet to see a screenshot that is larger than 640x, that actually gained much info or extra value in a higher resolution. Unless someone uses these shots as desktop backgrounds, which I doubt.

Anyway textures look very nice.

BTW, Hipshot you might like to mention your texture in this forums links sticky thread (along with a nice short info text).




Top
                 

This is not Æon!
This is not Æon!
Joined: 20 Jan 2002
Posts: 2153
PostPosted: 08-20-2005 01:46 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


@ Lunkin, this terrain was made in hammer, no other tools were used, source and hammer, has the best tools for making and rendering terrain in any game I've edited so far.

@ Sock, seremtan explain this very good, in hammer you pain the alpha, and as with a brush in like photoshop, it can have specific power/weight that makes a harder or lighter alpha stamp, from 0-255 and also different sizes, 1-5 squares/seems.

@ AEon, well, people using more than 1024 as thier work resolution might find 640x480 annoying to look at, since it would be very small, atleast I do ;) But I won't forgett the [lvlshot] tags next time.




Top
                 

blaze a blaze
blaze a blaze
Joined: 29 Jan 2000
Posts: 344
PostPosted: 08-20-2005 03:21 AM           Profile Send private message  E-mail  Edit post Reply with quote


Hipshot wrote:
@ Lunkin...


Fine, Hinpshot :p ;)




Top
                 
Quake3World.com | Forum Index | Level Editing & Modeling


Post new topic Reply to topic


cron
Quake3World.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group