(thin) shaft issue

Locked
Zyte
Posts: 888
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 7:00 am

(thin) shaft issue

Post by Zyte »

Alright let me try to explain my issue.

I am currently using a pretty standard cfg with cg_fov 120, sens 4.3 and cl_mouseaccel .30 and my shaft looks like this

The deal is i want my shaft changed to a skinny shaft, so it looks like this

I took the second screenshot using some old cfg i which was on my pc, supposed to be from fatality or lexer, whatever. Point is i like the shaft being one thin line, but i dislike the other settings in that cfg, for example the higher fov (as you can see in the 2nd sshot) and sensitivity.

The shaft in the 'skinny shaft cfg' was bound like this: "weapon 6: cg_fov 300; cg_zoomfov 90; cg_drawgun 1; sensitivity 9.6"

Now my issue is, how do i get my shaft like the one in the sshot, but with my cg_fov 120, and all my other settings like sensitivity the same? I have no idea what to change in my cfg and how to calculate my sensitiviy so it feels the same.

Here are both cfgs: current cfg skinny shaft cfg

Forgive my bad english, hope you can help me out.
User avatar
Survivor
Posts: 4202
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:00 am

Post by Survivor »

Hmm since the fov determines how wide you see doesn't taking a larger fovautomatically make any trail smaller since it applies to the whole screen? And by turning the fov down the shaft becomes thicker and thicker?
corncobman
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 7:00 am

Post by corncobman »

yeah, I suspect it's just zooming in on the shaft.
-It is not the fall that kills you. It's the sudden stop at the end. (Douglas Adams)-

[url=http://www.violationentertainment.com/misc/ccm]-An eyeful a day is bloody fantastic!-[/url]
Cooldown
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2000 7:00 am

Post by Cooldown »

To use thinshaft, you turn on zoom for the lightning gun, use your normal fov value for cg_zoomFov, use a high cg_fov (higher = thinner), and turn drawgun on.

for example:
bind <key> "weapon 6; +zoom; cg_fov 300;cg_zoomFov 120;cg_drawGun 1"

your other weapons would look like this:
bind <key> "weapon #; -zoom; cg_fov 120"

here's a portion of my cfg to illustrate:

Code: Select all

// weapons
bind m "weapon 1; cg_drawGun 1; vstr thinShaft_off" 	 // guantlet
bind z "weapon 2; cg_drawGun 0; vstr thinShaft_off"     // machinegun
bind t "weapon 3; cg_drawGun 1; vstr thinShaft_off"     // shotgun         
bind i "weapon 4; cg_drawGun 1; vstr thinShaft_off"     // grenade launcher
bind c "weapon 5; cg_drawGun 1; vstr thinShaft_off"   // rocket launcher
bind k "weapon 6; cg_drawGun 1; vstr thinShaft_on"  	 // lightning gun
bind v "weapon 7; cg_drawGun 0; vstr thinShaft_off"     // railgun
bind u "weapon 8; cg_drawGun 1; vstr thinShaft_off"     // plasma gun

// thinShaft
set thinShaft_off "cg_zoomFov 105; cg_fov 105; vstr zoom"
set thinShaft_on "cg_zoomFov 105; cg_fov 140; vstr zoom"
set zoom "+zoom; set activeAction vstr zoom"
seta activeAction "vstr zoom"
vstr zoom

seta cg_execVstr "zoom"
it does it a bit differently by staying in zoom the entire time, to get it working for yourself just change the keys and the zoomFov to 120, and cg_fov according to how wide you want the shaft (larger value = smaller shaft)
Last edited by Cooldown on Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:50 am, edited 5 times in total.
bork[e]
Posts: 4357
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:00 am

Post by bork[e] »

weapons spread out enough O_O.
Zyte
Posts: 888
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 7:00 am

Post by Zyte »

Thanks cooldown!
DRuM
Posts: 6841
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 8:00 am

Post by DRuM »

Zyte,
The thing that causes your LG to be that wide in the first screenshot is because you are not using cg_nomip or the correct one for the picmip you're on. If I'm playing baseq3, there is no nomip command, so my shaft is like that first screenie, unless I go to picmip 1.

I'm on 110 fov, and my shaft is fairly thin. I tried it on 120 and it was almost as thin as what you're looking for. But my shaft isn't as transparent as in your second screenie, it's a bit more solid, a bit more white. But my LG owns these days, so something must be good about it :p

These are my LG settings, and also, because I'm on picmip5 in OSP, I use this combination nomip. Rockets, LG, rail, everything looks fine with this nomip.

seta cg_nomip "63"

seta cg_altLightning "0"

seta cg_lightningImpact "1"

seta alt_lightning "1"

seta cg_trueLightning "0.0"


Try those and see if you like or not.
Zyte
Posts: 888
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 7:00 am

Post by Zyte »

Thanks drum, but i figured that out already. I indeed like the thin shape of it when using picmip 1 for the shaft, but i dislike the solidness and the color of it. Im looking for perfection :P
menkent
Posts: 2629
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2000 7:00 am

Post by menkent »

i'd suggest running on +zoom (ie- script on) all the time, unless you use different sensetivities for different weapons anyway. that will eliminate the need to perfectly match thinshaft and normal-fov sens.

oh, and don't forget to set zoomfov to 120 and not 90.
S@M
Posts: 1889
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:11 am

Post by S@M »

I have a thick shaft, but thats a whole different story
"Liberty, what crimes are committed in your name."
+JuggerNaut+
Posts: 22175
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 7:00 am

Post by +JuggerNaut+ »

S@M wrote:I have a thick shaft, but thats a whole different story
then you woke up and the bed was all wet.
[img]http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c113/ChipV/peso3.jpg[/img]
FSF-Moses
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 7:00 am

Post by FSF-Moses »

[offtopic]
@Zyte: What mod are you using in the first screenshot? It looks like OSP but then it looks kinda different...
[/offtopic]
Zyte
Posts: 888
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 7:00 am

Post by Zyte »

OSP
FSF-Moses
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 7:00 am

Post by FSF-Moses »

Thanks Zyte
prince1000
Posts: 1892
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2001 8:00 am

Post by prince1000 »

also, use cl_showmouserate 1 to adjust your sens accordingly. playing zoomed increases it depending on fov so you may need to do some math if you're particular about your pre-thinshaft sens.

here's mine as well:

Code: Select all

//thinshaft + weapons

bind z "weapon 1;sensitivity 3.2;cg_drawgun 1;cg_drawcrosshair 2;vstr thinshaft_off"
bind MOUSE3 "weapon 2;sensitivity 3.2;cg_drawgun 0;cg_drawcrosshair 2;vstr thinshaft_off"
bind F10 "weapon 3;sensitivity 3.2;cg_drawgun 0;cg_drawcrosshair 2;vstr thinshaft_off"
bind v "weapon 4;sensitivity 3.2;cg_drawgun 0;cg_drawcrosshair 2;vstr thinshaft_off"
bind r "weapon 5;sensitivity 3.2;cg_drawgun 0;cg_drawcrosshair 1;vstr thinshaft_off"
bind F9 "weapon 6;sensitivity 3.2;cg_drawgun 1;cg_drawcrosshair 2;vstr thinshaft_on"
bind t "weapon 7;sensitivity 3.2;cg_drawgun 0;cg_drawcrosshair 2;vstr thinshaft_off"
bind g "weapon 8;cg_drawgun 0;cg_drawcrosshair 2;vstr thinshaft_off"

set thinshaft_on "cg_fov 280;cg_zoomfov 110;+zoom"
set thinshaft_off "cg_fov 280;cg_zoomfov 110;+zoom"
menkent
Posts: 2629
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2000 7:00 am

Post by menkent »

you reach all the way to F9 and F10 for ssg and shaft?
prince1000
Posts: 1892
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2001 8:00 am

Post by prince1000 »

bound to mouse 4+5 in windows. 6 is F11 for zoom and fullscreen in windows
+JuggerNaut+
Posts: 22175
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 7:00 am

Post by +JuggerNaut+ »

menkent wrote:you reach all the way to F9 and F10 for ssg and shaft?
there's a sausage weapon?
DRuM
Posts: 6841
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 8:00 am

Post by DRuM »

+JuggerNaut+ wrote:
menkent wrote:you reach all the way to F9 and F10 for ssg and shaft?
there's a sausage weapon?
No jokes in q3disc juggy !
+JuggerNaut+
Posts: 22175
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 7:00 am

Post by +JuggerNaut+ »

DRuM wrote:
+JuggerNaut+ wrote:
menkent wrote:you reach all the way to F9 and F10 for ssg and shaft?
there's a sausage weapon?
No jokes in q3disc juggy !
no joke man. as you can see, menkent clearly typed "ssg". that's "sausage". <s>is there some kind of kielbasa mod that i'm not familiar with?</s>

forget that last bit. i just noticed that prince1000 binds F9 for "sausage" and F10 for "shaft". i'm no longer interested.
SixtyNine
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 1999 8:00 am

Post by SixtyNine »

wow
Locked