Having some problems creating the .aas file now.

Discussion for Level editing, modeling, programming, or any of the other technical aspects of Quake
Post Reply
bork[e]
Posts: 4357
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:00 am

Having some problems creating the .aas file now.

Post by bork[e] »

BSP, VIS compile fine with zero errors...but then the BSPC compile says my map is leaked. So I load the .lin file and this is what I get:

[lvlshot]http://www.members.cox.net/borke/shrimp/error.JPG[/lvlshot]

As you can see, there is a brush right there (that is structural.)

But anyway, here is what is at the bottom of the BSPC compile log.

Compile settings I have tried many different ways, but mostly It's all just default... BSP, VIS, LIGHT, BSPC, nothing special just yet.

Code: Select all

   598 tiny portals

  3093 KB of portal memory

  7015 KB of winding memory

------ FloodEntities -------
WARNING: entity reached from outside
--- LeakFile ---
C:\Program Files\Quake III Arena\baseq3\maps\shrimp13.lin
    6 point linefile
ERROR: **** leaked ****

Closed log bspc.log
AEon
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2003 7:00 am

Post by AEon »

The message says "entity reached from the outside"... you can see the entity in the top down view. Place is INSIDE the map and the compile should work.

No entity is allowed in the void or what usually happens in brush geometry.

Hope that heps.
bork[e]
Posts: 4357
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:00 am

Post by bork[e] »

well, there isn't anything out in the void, the pointfile starts at the JP targert, and goes straight out the wall...nothing is in the brush, nor outside...
Hex
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 7:00 am

Post by Hex »

Delete and recreate the brush out of caulk. Recompile. ?
bork[e]
Posts: 4357
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:00 am

Post by bork[e] »

well, at first the brushes that were being "leaked" were all curved in some way. Either cliped, vertex munipulated ect...

I made all those detail and placed a straight structural brush behind them. Each time I did this the pointfile found another place to go through.

Now it's going through straight brushes, I'm lost now. :o

Here is the map file if you care to see it for youself. : http://www.members.cox.net/borke/shrimp/shrimp13.zip

edit: Has some custom textures in there, unless you have Evil6, 7 & 8 you'll get the pretty red/black texture. :D
bork[e]
Posts: 4357
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:00 am

Post by bork[e] »

hmmm, found this at the top.

Code: Select all

surface 463 bogus normal vector 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
t1 = 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000, t2 = 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
p0 = 512.000000 512.000000 320.000000
p1 = 512.000000 512.000000 320.000000
p2 = 512.000000 512.000000 320.000000
The map is pretty dirty right now, could it just be the crappy use of brushes that is giving me errors right now?
Magnus
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by Magnus »

I opend the map and ran a brush cleanup and got this

4 invalid/duplicate planes removed

Then saved and ran a bsp- meta and everything ran fine.

I saved again and ran a final bsp compile and once again everything ran fine.

Perhaps the 4 invalid/duplicate planes were the problem.

Hope this helps.
Uh, well....good luck with that. :shrug:

[img]http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g228/Magnus3204/forumheader.jpg[/img]
bork[e]
Posts: 4357
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:00 am

Post by bork[e] »

that really confuses me now, I did the same thing (about a day or so after I posted the .map file) and got the same 4 brushes, then I tried to compile. Got the error again. :/

I'm going to clean a few more things up and see what happens though, thanks. :)

edit: Everything ran fine as in bspc as well?

edit2: hmm, now it's every map I do it gives me an error. (just noticed that one...) *thinks*
Plan B
Posts: 3599
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2001 8:00 am

Post by Plan B »

Strange.

Just downloaded your mapfile and it compiled just fine without any alterations.

Simple BSP Vis -fast light.
Q3maptoolz 0.6.14 and q3map_2.5.4_win32_x86.
(I know, pretty obsolete q3map2 but have lighting issues with more recent versions.)


It's been three days so maybe you sorted things out in the meantime.

I'm aware it's a bit of a kneedrop, but you might just have to back things up, uninstall and reinstall your apps to go back to square one again.
obsidian
Posts: 10970
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 8:00 am

Post by obsidian »

Plan B wrote:I know, pretty obsolete q3map2 but have lighting issues with more recent versions.
What lighting issues are you having with recent versions, specifically?
[size=85][url=http://gtkradiant.com]GtkRadiant[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com]Q3Map2[/url] | [url=http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/shader_manual/]Shader Manual[/url][/size]
pjw
Posts: 860
Joined: Sun May 07, 2000 7:00 am

Post by pjw »

I find it amusing that everyone seems to be checking your bsp compile for you and saying it works fine after you said that yourself in the first post. :)

I'll grab it tonight and try bsp + aas and see what happens if you're still having troubles, but if you're getting a bspc leak on every map now (which is what you seemed to be saying in your last post), it sounds like there's some other issue going on...
Plan B
Posts: 3599
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2001 8:00 am

Post by Plan B »

obsidian wrote:What lighting issues are you having with recent versions, specifically?
Mainly light-leakage through perfectly valid brushes.
Plan B
Posts: 3599
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2001 8:00 am

Post by Plan B »

pjw wrote:I find it amusing that everyone seems to be checking your bsp compile for you and saying it works fine after you said that yourself in the first post. :)
Well...'amusing'...
'Embarrassing' seems more appropriate.

Indeed a case of projecting ones own noobness :icon30:

Have to admit I never ran into any aas-leakage issues before so I'm just gonna sit back and let you do the dirty work :)
bork[e]
Posts: 4357
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:00 am

Post by bork[e] »

yeah, every map I compile fails during bspc...giving the same error above (pretty close anyway)

I can post a few log file if needed. I've also been searching around everywhere I know and this doesn't look like a very common problem.

Guess I could always reinstall radiant (that is where the bspc compiler is yes) and see if that fixes it.??

Might try that tonight.
pjw
Posts: 860
Joined: Sun May 07, 2000 7:00 am

Post by pjw »

Plan B wrote:'Embarrassing' seems more appropriate.
Nah, I like amusing. :)

downloading now...

[edit]
Okay, I got the same bspc leak, so opened the map up. It badly needs botclipping. Bots/.aas/navigation has always been a bit of a weak spot for Q3. Anything AI is always tricky anyway, so the closer you can make your map to a series of nice axial boxes, the better the bots are going to like it.

I took a closer look at the area where the .lin was showing up, and that area is a bspc nightmare--lots of angles (some on more than one axis), lots of ledges, lots of little nooks, multilevel stuff, some curves thrown into the mix...bleh. I'm not surprised bspc shit the bed. :)

I botclipped the area, and bspc was then happy and made an .aas file just fine. Feel free to download the map and check how I did the clipping right there. Botclipping is always a little subjective, but this should at least get you pointed in the right direction for doing the rest of the level (and once you get the whole thing clipped, the .aas size will drop dramatically, and the bots will act much smarter).

http://www.planetquake.com/pjw/shrimp13.zip

[/edit]
bork[e]
Posts: 4357
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:00 am

Post by bork[e] »

pjw wrote:[
I botclipped the area,
:icon32:

hmmm, made a few bot clips and though maybe that would take care of it. Guess not :olo:

Will take a look further and see what I can do.


Thanks :)

for now hough, bed ime..will take a look tomorrow. :icon14:
Hr.O
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2000 7:00 am

Post by Hr.O »

if you use -meta, botclip the hell outa you level. (better do it anyways :) )

Hr.O
ps yes it's back, phear meh!!!
bork[e]
Posts: 4357
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:00 am

Post by bork[e] »

Thanks pjw, that got it working. :D
pjw
Posts: 860
Joined: Sun May 07, 2000 7:00 am

Post by pjw »

You're quite welcome. Happy to help. :)
Post Reply