Need help testing new hitboxes!
-
- Posts: 941
- Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:47 am
Yah
Slant is much needed. In Q4 everyone looks like they have a metal rod stuck up their ass.
-
- Posts: 941
- Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:47 am
He says on the 2nd page of that thread that the projectile bound boxes are no larger than they are in Q3. I've been told that rockets don't have bound boxes in Q3 though. It's some kind of line tracing detection (according to misantropia).TTK-Bandit wrote:well I guess he is talking about something else..
this problem I think we are talking about has to do with the boundingboxes of the rockets.
I tried making them smaller, and voillat: it worked.
I guess he just misunderstood, like I did the first time.
OK, that might be the case. I don't remember what numbers we used. But, that still doesn't make any sense to me.Oeloe wrote:Finally found SyncErrors post at ESR:
Ok i got it backwards, but his explanation still doesn't make sense to me.The rocket hitting the wall when aiming 1 pixel away from it has nothing to do with the rockets hitbox. It has to do with the origin of the projectile. In D3 and Q4 it shoots from the players origin whereas in Q3 it shot from a distance just in front of the player's origin.
Maybe I don't understand the problem, but how far ahead of you the projectile spawns shouldn't matter for shooting around corners.
Rockets do have bounding boxes in Q4. They're predicted via dead reckoned velocity extrapolation on the clients, but that has nothing to do with explosions (at least not the real server-side do-damage explosions)Oeloe wrote:He says on the 2nd page of that thread that the projectile bound boxes are no larger than they are in Q3. I've been told that rockets don't have bound boxes in Q3 though. It's some kind of line tracing detection (according to misantropia).TTK-Bandit wrote:well I guess he is talking about something else..
this problem I think we are talking about has to do with the boundingboxes of the rockets.
I tried making them smaller, and voillat: it worked.
I guess he just misunderstood, like I did the first time.
Doom 3 is a different engine that does this (and many other things) differently than Q3 did.Oeloe wrote:The question arises (again): why not stick to what worked before? The projectile hit detection in Q3 was perfect.
It's also somewhat tricky, because its not like anything with D3/Q4's proejctile collision is "wrong" from a non-competitive point of view. That is to say, you can't say the collision isn't working - its not like projectiles explode in mid-air.
IMO, a lot of the feel you get from Q3 is from very minute ways things were coded and setup, not general concepts. That is to say, projectiles in Q4 have hitboxes, just like Q3, but the way it was implemented in the Doom 3 tech is just different, and that causes the different feel.
Q4 tries to get as close as possible, but its a different engine.
-
- Posts: 190
- Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 7:00 am
Not in mid-air but somewhere around the models :> I have seen this many times in Doom3 and Quake4 f.e. Airockets explode far away from the models, projectiles fly through the models, opponents walk through you. Hit detection only works good if you play against people with the same connection and pings. Playing against better connections in d3/q4 is pretty senseless.dynerman wrote:That is to say, you can't say the collision isn't working - its not like projectiles explode in mid-air.
The G_RunMissile code uses the equivalent of Q3 "bounding boxes" in that it does a trace from previous position to the current position. However, that trace has a bounding box size of 0, so, you're right, it is essentially a line trace for movement/collision.TTK-Bandit wrote:>Q4 have hitboxes, just like Q3
sorry, if I misunderstood you, but Q3 had no projectile hitboxes.
look at g_missile.c: G_RunMissile
and you will see, that the collision-detection is a trace, no hitbox.
You might try approximating the same behavior in Q4 by making the rocket bounding box have small extents, but I'm not sure how the collision system would respond to that.
Code: Select all
function correctPNG() // correctly handle PNG transparency in Win IE 5.5 or higher.
{
for(var i=0; i<document.images.length; i++)
{
var img = document.images[i]
var imgName = img.src.toUpperCase()
if (imgName.substring(imgName.length-3, imgName.length) == "PNG")
{
var imgID = (img.id) ? "id='" + img.id + "' " : ""
var imgClass = (img.className) ? "class='" + img.className + "' " : ""
var imgTitle = (img.title) ? "title='" + img.title + "' " : "title='" + img.alt + "' "
var imgStyle = "display:inline-block;" + img.style.cssText
if (img.align == "left") imgStyle = "float:left;" + imgStyle
if (img.align == "right") imgStyle = "float:right;" + imgStyle
if (img.parentElement.href) imgStyle = "cursor:hand;" + imgStyle
var strNewHTML = "<span " + imgID + imgClass + imgTitle
+ " style=\"" + "width:" + img.width + "px; height:" + img.height + "px;" + imgStyle + ";"
+ "filter:progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.AlphaImageLoader"
+ "(src=\'" + img.src + "\', sizingMethod='scale');\"></span>"
img.outerHTML = strNewHTML
i = i-1
}
}
}
if ( browser == "Internet Explorer" ) {
window.attachEvent("onload", correctPNG);
}

-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:16 pm
I dislike your new hexagonal box because the player's feet are outside the box. When a last-second shot at 2500 yards means the difference between 1st and 2nd place in a match, you can be damn sure I'm going to want the original bounding box, because your little toe is going to meet my rail slug. :-priddla wrote:link?Lenard wrote:q4w
GTR mod runs on my server now. There are no custom maps at the moment, but i will put some on it tomorrow. Autodownload works fine. Vote is enabled too. Try it!
Team bW |GameType Revolution |AutoDownload! |PR 1.1 Final
85.90.162.19:28004
Team bW |GameType Revolution |AutoDownload! |PR 1.1 Final
85.90.162.19:28004
Quake 4 GameType Revolution mod
http://gtr.quakedev.com
http://gtr.quakedev.com