Need help testing new hitboxes!

iluvquake4
Posts: 941
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:47 am

Yah

Post by iluvquake4 »

Slant is much needed. In Q4 everyone looks like they have a metal rod stuck up their ass.
Ganemi
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Yah

Post by Ganemi »

iluvquake4 wrote:Slant is much needed. In Q4 everyone looks like they have a metal rod stuck up their ass.
If that looks like a metal rod to you, wait till you play Urban Terror.
iluvquake4
Posts: 941
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:47 am

Post by iluvquake4 »

Any chance id will incorporate these new hitboxes, officially?
Oeloe
Posts: 1529
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 8:00 am

Post by Oeloe »

TTK-Bandit wrote:well I guess he is talking about something else..
this problem I think we are talking about has to do with the boundingboxes of the rockets.
I tried making them smaller, and voillat: it worked.
I guess he just misunderstood, like I did the first time.
He says on the 2nd page of that thread that the projectile bound boxes are no larger than they are in Q3. I've been told that rockets don't have bound boxes in Q3 though. It's some kind of line tracing detection (according to misantropia).
dynerman
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 6:31 am

Post by dynerman »

Oeloe wrote:Finally found SyncErrors post at ESR:
The rocket hitting the wall when aiming 1 pixel away from it has nothing to do with the rockets hitbox. It has to do with the origin of the projectile. In D3 and Q4 it shoots from the players origin whereas in Q3 it shot from a distance just in front of the player's origin.
Ok i got it backwards, but his explanation still doesn't make sense to me.
OK, that might be the case. I don't remember what numbers we used. But, that still doesn't make any sense to me.

Maybe I don't understand the problem, but how far ahead of you the projectile spawns shouldn't matter for shooting around corners.
dynerman
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 6:31 am

Post by dynerman »

Oeloe wrote:
TTK-Bandit wrote:well I guess he is talking about something else..
this problem I think we are talking about has to do with the boundingboxes of the rockets.
I tried making them smaller, and voillat: it worked.
I guess he just misunderstood, like I did the first time.
He says on the 2nd page of that thread that the projectile bound boxes are no larger than they are in Q3. I've been told that rockets don't have bound boxes in Q3 though. It's some kind of line tracing detection (according to misantropia).
Rockets do have bounding boxes in Q4. They're predicted via dead reckoned velocity extrapolation on the clients, but that has nothing to do with explosions (at least not the real server-side do-damage explosions)
Oeloe
Posts: 1529
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 8:00 am

Post by Oeloe »

The question arises (again): why not stick to what worked before? The projectile hit detection in Q3 was perfect.
dynerman
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 6:31 am

Post by dynerman »

Oeloe wrote:The question arises (again): why not stick to what worked before? The projectile hit detection in Q3 was perfect.
Doom 3 is a different engine that does this (and many other things) differently than Q3 did.

It's also somewhat tricky, because its not like anything with D3/Q4's proejctile collision is "wrong" from a non-competitive point of view. That is to say, you can't say the collision isn't working - its not like projectiles explode in mid-air.

IMO, a lot of the feel you get from Q3 is from very minute ways things were coded and setup, not general concepts. That is to say, projectiles in Q4 have hitboxes, just like Q3, but the way it was implemented in the Doom 3 tech is just different, and that causes the different feel.

Q4 tries to get as close as possible, but its a different engine.
TTK-Bandit
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 7:00 am

Post by TTK-Bandit »

>Q4 have hitboxes, just like Q3
sorry, if I misunderstood you, but Q3 had no projectile hitboxes.
look at g_missile.c: G_RunMissile
and you will see, that the collision-detection is a trace, no hitbox.
Ganemi
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 12:57 pm

Post by Ganemi »

Oh, boy. When I heard that Quake 4 was being made on the Doom 3 engine I knew that there would be some kind of hubub about the feel of the game, even if I have no experience coding.
Goofos
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:54 pm

Post by Goofos »

dynerman wrote:That is to say, you can't say the collision isn't working - its not like projectiles explode in mid-air.
Not in mid-air but somewhere around the models :> I have seen this many times in Doom3 and Quake4 f.e. Airockets explode far away from the models, projectiles fly through the models, opponents walk through you. Hit detection only works good if you play against people with the same connection and pings. Playing against better connections in d3/q4 is pretty senseless.
dynerman
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 6:31 am

Post by dynerman »

TTK-Bandit wrote:>Q4 have hitboxes, just like Q3
sorry, if I misunderstood you, but Q3 had no projectile hitboxes.
look at g_missile.c: G_RunMissile
and you will see, that the collision-detection is a trace, no hitbox.
The G_RunMissile code uses the equivalent of Q3 "bounding boxes" in that it does a trace from previous position to the current position. However, that trace has a bounding box size of 0, so, you're right, it is essentially a line trace for movement/collision.

You might try approximating the same behavior in Q4 by making the rocket bounding box have small extents, but I'm not sure how the collision system would respond to that.
Zimbo
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 10:50 pm

Post by Zimbo »

Can't you make collision detection like in sof2? they had a really good system i think... :confused:
Zimbabwe
KO
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 2:41 am

Post by KO »

#hitboxtest on Quakenet, testing starts in 30mins.
KMG
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 4:21 am

Post by KMG »

Code: Select all

function correctPNG() // correctly handle PNG transparency in Win IE 5.5 or higher.
   {




   for(var i=0; i<document.images.length; i++)
      {
	  var img = document.images[i]
	  var imgName = img.src.toUpperCase()
	  if (imgName.substring(imgName.length-3, imgName.length) == "PNG")
	     {
		 var imgID = (img.id) ? "id='" + img.id + "' " : ""
		 var imgClass = (img.className) ? "class='" + img.className + "' " : ""
		 var imgTitle = (img.title) ? "title='" + img.title + "' " : "title='" + img.alt + "' "
		 var imgStyle = "display:inline-block;" + img.style.cssText 
		 if (img.align == "left") imgStyle = "float:left;" + imgStyle
		 if (img.align == "right") imgStyle = "float:right;" + imgStyle
		 if (img.parentElement.href) imgStyle = "cursor:hand;" + imgStyle		
		 var strNewHTML = "<span " + imgID + imgClass + imgTitle
		 + " style=\"" + "width:" + img.width + "px; height:" + img.height + "px;" + imgStyle + ";"
	     + "filter:progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.AlphaImageLoader"
		 + "(src=\'" + img.src + "\', sizingMethod='scale');\"></span>" 
		 img.outerHTML = strNewHTML
		 i = i-1
	     }
      }
   }
   if ( browser == "Internet Explorer" ) {
window.attachEvent("onload", correctPNG);
}
I doubt this can help at all with a forum post, but it definitely fixes alpha problems with IE :)
geodescent
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:16 pm

Post by geodescent »

riddla wrote:
Lenard wrote:q4w
link?
I dislike your new hexagonal box because the player's feet are outside the box. When a last-second shot at 2500 yards means the difference between 1st and 2nd place in a match, you can be damn sure I'm going to want the original bounding box, because your little toe is going to meet my rail slug. :-p
Ver1tas
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:42 pm

Post by Ver1tas »

GTR mod runs on my server now. There are no custom maps at the moment, but i will put some on it tomorrow. Autodownload works fine. Vote is enabled too. Try it!

Team bW |GameType Revolution |AutoDownload! |PR 1.1 Final
85.90.162.19:28004
Quake 4 GameType Revolution mod
http://gtr.quakedev.com
Lenard
Posts: 737
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 7:00 am

Post by Lenard »

Autodl by F.q4w!
[img]http://myspace-001.vo.llnwd.net/00555/10/05/555355001_l.gif[/img]
Ver1tas
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:42 pm

Post by Ver1tas »

OK :) I will do it.
Quake 4 GameType Revolution mod
http://gtr.quakedev.com
Locked